Blueberry Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I made this pie with canned cherries & frozen blueberries I had on hand & it was still delicious. I only added 3/4cup of sugar to compensate for the sweeter fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is fantastic and easy. Like the others, I lowered the sugar content to 3/4 cup and the cinnamon to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp vanilla. I also changed it to 3 cups fresh cherries and 2 cups fresh blueberries. It comes out great, even without a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
I enjoyed the blueberry/cherry/cinnamon combination, but I found the pie to be a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I guess I should have read the reviews before I made the pie. It's berry pie...not cinnamon pie!!!! Lordy-be! Everyone modified it and THEN gave it 5 stars! They're really giving themselves 5 stars, because the recipe un-modified is WAY too cinnamon-ey. yikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This recipe is delicious!! I took the advice of others and only used 3/4 C sugar, 1/2 T of cinnamon, 3 Cups fresh cherries, 1 Cup fresh blueberries, and add 1 tsp of vanilla. This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
This was a great pie. I love blueberries and cherries and this was a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
One of the best pies ever, and I give it 5 stars on flavor, but cut WAY back on the cinnamon. I added 1 cup raspberries, 1-1/2 cups blueberries, and 1 can sour pie cherries(approx 1-1/2 cups). Instead of lemon juice I used 1/4 tsp almond flavoring and 1 tsp vanilla. One DASH of cinnamon. I would give this recipe a 5 except it called for more cinnamon than I like. Try it with the raspberries--they add a rich, sweet-tart depth to the blueberries & cherries. Thank you for a great combination Deanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
This is a great recipe, the pie is moist, but holds its form. I used premade pie crusts and putting this recipe together was a snap. Actual prep time was around 35 minutes, but only because of pitting the cherries. It only took 5 minutes to put the pie together. Everyone raved about this recipe. I have used it since and will continue to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
READ BEFORE PREPARING PIE! We all like the idea of the cherry/blueberry combo - but it seems no one actually likes THIS recipe! A few pieces of advice - 1) less cinnamon! 2) If you are using TART cherries MAYBE the excess sugar is in order - but if using sweet cherries (or canned) then use less sugar (2/3 - 3/4 cup) Also - if using sweet then might want to counter some of the sweetness with extra lemon juice and even the zest. 3)If using frozen berries then account for the extra water/juice by increasing the amount of flour or adding a couple teaspoons of corn starch. Also - don't forget the butter on top - it will thicken the sauce and add a velvety texture. 4) It looks like some people cook down the filling - do that if you want more of a canned filling texture - I like the fresh berry texture better - but if you don't cook it down you might have to cook the pie longer to get the syrup thickened. 5)Lastly - I took some others advice and added vanilla and almond extract - I LOVE that combo with cherries! It seems we all love the IDEA of this pie - but no one is using the recipe! Maybe ALLRECIPES.Com should consider adding the "improved" recipe to their site! Good LUCK! PS - the article "can you bake a cherry pie" on this site has some GREAT advice for this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
I reduced the sugar to one cup and added 1/2 tsp vanilla. It was very good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States