Blueberry Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This recipe was really great. The only changes I made was to cut down on the cinnamon. Even then, I felt like it was too much. I don't think I'll be using any cinnamon next time I make it. The only other change I made was that instead of 1 1/4 cups of white sugar, I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. We loved the consistency of this pie and will definitely make it again. It tastes great using frozen cherries and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I followed the recommendations of a couple of other reviews and made a couple of changes: 3 cups of cherries instead of 2, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of 1, and added 1 tsp. vanilla. It turned out great, except that it didn't setup very well (maybe it needed to cook longer?) and next time I think I'll leave the cinnamon out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I made it by the original recipe except I added extra flour. I used all the cherries I had and added frozen blueberries to make up the total 4 cups. It never set up completely. It was still delcious over vanilla ice cream though! Not sure what I did wrong. But I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I Loved this took everyone's advice on cutting the Cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. I don't care for Cinnamon so I would of done that no matter what. But It was perfect not too tart or too sweet and was the perfect in between. I used frash cherries and frozen blueberries and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Marker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I make this for father's day every year from our orchard pickings. Always a hit for all the dad's in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodLovers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I cut the sugar, and used 3/4 splenda, and made a crumb topping with oatmeal instead of a double crust to save on calories. My diabetic family friend is quite pleased! It came out very well, though I added another half hour to the cooking time. I can't give it 5 stars since I fiddled with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drusie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I made the recipe as written and everyone LOVED it. THIS is a great pie. Used fresh sweet cherries and fresh blueberries. Did not find the cinammon to be overpowering at all. The pie set up beautifully; moist, but not runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
READ BEFORE PREPARING PIE! We all like the idea of the cherry/blueberry combo - but it seems no one actually likes THIS recipe! A few pieces of advice - 1) less cinnamon! 2) If you are using TART cherries MAYBE the excess sugar is in order - but if using sweet cherries (or canned) then use less sugar (2/3 - 3/4 cup) Also - if using sweet then might want to counter some of the sweetness with extra lemon juice and even the zest. 3)If using frozen berries then account for the extra water/juice by increasing the amount of flour or adding a couple teaspoons of corn starch. Also - don't forget the butter on top - it will thicken the sauce and add a velvety texture. 4) It looks like some people cook down the filling - do that if you want more of a canned filling texture - I like the fresh berry texture better - but if you don't cook it down you might have to cook the pie longer to get the syrup thickened. 5)Lastly - I took some others advice and added vanilla and almond extract - I LOVE that combo with cherries! It seems we all love the IDEA of this pie - but no one is using the recipe! Maybe ALLRECIPES.Com should consider adding the "improved" recipe to their site! Good LUCK! PS - the article "can you bake a cherry pie" on this site has some GREAT advice for this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaneP
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
For a simple crust try 2 cups of flour, a pinch of salt, and a cup of vegetable shortening and also a 1/2 cup of cold water. Mix together until thoroughly blended. Cut dough in half and roll into balls, wrap in wax paper and refridgerate for 4 hours or more. I used 1 lbs of cherries and exactly 12oz of large organic blueberries. For the Filling, instead of cinnamon, 3/4 tsp of almond extact really brings out the flavor of the of fruits. You could use flour in the filling but 3 tbls of corn starch is enough. Add a cup of sugar and a tbls of butter. that's all you need for the filling. Bring to a boil over medium heat stirring constantly . Once the mix has thickened and become translucent, let simmer for 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaneP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This pie is one of the best pie's I have ever made . My wife loved it along with the kids , She had me make another for Sunday Dinner down at her Mom and Dad's house and the in-laws loved it .. I plan on making this for the 4th of July
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycooker67

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States