Blueberry Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Changes I made based on other reviews were as follows: 3 cups fresh cherries, 1 cup fresh blueberries, 3/4 cup sugar, 3 Tbs cornstarch instead of flour, 1 Tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp almond extract, lemon juice the same, cooked down on the stove before filling crust. The flavor was nice, but it still seemed quite sweet, I may cut sugar to 1/2 cup next time. Also, I didn't think my pie dish was deep (~1") but it could have taken at least another cup of fruit. Looking forward to try number 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
The pie was great. The filling was sweet and the juices thickened up nicely with the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I made this pie for a cherry festival at our church and was told it was the best one there. I left out the cinnamon, cut the sugar down to scant 1 cup, it was 4 cups sweet cherries, 1 cup blueberries and added 1 cup raspberries. The raspberries gave it a little tartness and was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This pie is very good. I love how the ingredients all came together so EASILY. The reviews are all right though. There is way too much cinnamon. I LOVE cinnamon, so I didn't think it would be a problem. I always hate to veer away from the original recipe, as I am not that confident about making changes, but in this case, I will use a lot less cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have to agree with smthngsbrning, 1Tablespoon of cinnamon? That's too much cinnamon for 'cinnamon anything' let alone cherry/berry pie. I made the recipe but omitted cinnamon altogether and added 1/2 teaspoon almond flavor instead. It was simple and tasted like what it was. Good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, and it was perfect. I did prepare it differently, cooking the filling on the stove, like I usually do when I make a cherry pie. I used corn starch instead of flour, and brought the mixture to a low boil, it thickened right up, and then I poured it into the crust. I also added 1/4 tsp almond extract to the filling, just as a personal preference. The filling was not runny, but also not dry. Everyone really enjoyed the pie, and I know that I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Delicious flavor, however, a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Sorry, I really don't think this recipe is as good as everyone seems to rave about even with the suggested changes with other reviewers. It's far too runny. I think it would benefit adding more flour, cornstarch, or tapioca. It's still too sweet. Made it for my family the other day and I knew already that I would be having left over pie for days. Anyone for pie? Come on over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Amazing. Makes you wonder why anyone buys the canned fruit pie filling when this is so easy. Also added in some red raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Wished I would have followed some of the reviews and cut sugar. Way to sweet. also I thin some recommended adding cornstarch. I read this stuff after I made. the pie tastes good, but to sweet and runny. Will make again with adjustments. Hardly can have a bad pie unless you completely burn it so will be ate. I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States