Blueberry Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Who knew that cherries and blueberries could make such a fabulous pie? Well, I didn't, but I loved it! I did make some changes to suit our personal taste preference. Used less than 1/2 cup sugar, cut the cinnamon back to 1/2 tsp, and added a bit of almond and vanilla extracts. Also, to avoid any possibility of a runny fruit filling, added 1 Tbsp of Minute Tapioca (this does not affect the flavor of the filling). I used a combination of dark red sweet and Rainier cherries and, of course, plump, sweet fresh blueberries. I forgot the lemon juice, but I didn't miss it. This pie cooked up beautifully with perfect texture and just enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Laurie
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Best ever! Replaced sugar with Truvia for less fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Mirage, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Changes I made based on other reviews were as follows: 3 cups fresh cherries, 1 cup fresh blueberries, 3/4 cup sugar, 3 Tbs cornstarch instead of flour, 1 Tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp almond extract, lemon juice the same, cooked down on the stove before filling crust. The flavor was nice, but it still seemed quite sweet, I may cut sugar to 1/2 cup next time. Also, I didn't think my pie dish was deep (~1") but it could have taken at least another cup of fruit. Looking forward to try number 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
The pie was great. The filling was sweet and the juices thickened up nicely with the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I made this pie for a cherry festival at our church and was told it was the best one there. I left out the cinnamon, cut the sugar down to scant 1 cup, it was 4 cups sweet cherries, 1 cup blueberries and added 1 cup raspberries. The raspberries gave it a little tartness and was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This pie is very good. I love how the ingredients all came together so EASILY. The reviews are all right though. There is way too much cinnamon. I LOVE cinnamon, so I didn't think it would be a problem. I always hate to veer away from the original recipe, as I am not that confident about making changes, but in this case, I will use a lot less cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have to agree with smthngsbrning, 1Tablespoon of cinnamon? That's too much cinnamon for 'cinnamon anything' let alone cherry/berry pie. I made the recipe but omitted cinnamon altogether and added 1/2 teaspoon almond flavor instead. It was simple and tasted like what it was. Good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, and it was perfect. I did prepare it differently, cooking the filling on the stove, like I usually do when I make a cherry pie. I used corn starch instead of flour, and brought the mixture to a low boil, it thickened right up, and then I poured it into the crust. I also added 1/4 tsp almond extract to the filling, just as a personal preference. The filling was not runny, but also not dry. Everyone really enjoyed the pie, and I know that I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Delicious flavor, however, a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Bew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Sorry, I really don't think this recipe is as good as everyone seems to rave about even with the suggested changes with other reviewers. It's far too runny. I think it would benefit adding more flour, cornstarch, or tapioca. It's still too sweet. Made it for my family the other day and I knew already that I would be having left over pie for days. Anyone for pie? Come on over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States