Blueberry Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Excellent and five stars with a few changes. This recipe had a good foundation, but also had some glitches, an unnecessarily large amount of sugar being one of them. I worked with this just a little and came up with a dessert that three people nearly devoured completely at one sitting and made a cheesecake lover out of one of them (that would be Hubs, who insists no cheese of any kind belongs in dessert). I reduced the butter to 5 T. in the crust and the sugar to 2 T. - graham crackers, of course, are already sweet! With the fairly standard rule of thumb for cheesecakes in mind of 1 pkg. cream cheese to 1 egg and 1/4 cup sugar, I added an extra package of cream cheese to the filling, along with a teaspoon and a half of vanilla. The topping is just fine as written, I just subbed frozen, sliced strawberries for the blueberries in order to use what I had available. Real whipped cream was the finishing touch. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I read the reviews and "kicked this up a notch" so to speak. Anyways I used 2 cups of graham crackers, 7 tbs butter, doubled the cream cheese as everyone else suggested, added 1 tsp vanilla to the cream cheese mixture, as well as 1/2 cup sour cream. I kept the sugar amount in the blueberries. Then I cooked everything in a regular cheesecake pan. This was the hit of yesterday's picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnstown, New York, USA
Living In: Gloversville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Great dessert recipe! Take my advice and double the cheese mixture and bake for 30 min. use a 9 by 12 in. pan, I don't think they make an 8 by 12 in. Also you get many more servings for this than stated, I also used 1 C. butter in the crust, it helped to stay together better. Also, tastes great without the cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I think this had potential, but as a virgin cheesecake baker I wish the recipe indicated I should cool the cheesecake layer before adding the blueberries. Everything blended and I wound up with soup. Lesson learned, but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I made this with fresh picked wild blueberries and it was amazingly good, but a bit too sweet. I cut it in half, but is didn't seem sweet enough. Next time, 3/4 of a cup. I didn't double the cream cheese layer, but I thought it was still great -- it gave it a subtle cheesecake flavor, but the blueberries really stood out. I made it in a 8 x 12 glass casserole dish and it was very pretty. This was the hit of the picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Excellent! I took the advice of others and double the cheesecake layer and I'm glad I did. This was super easy and was gobbled up very quickly. I'll definitly be making this again, and will experiment with other fruit. I think cherries, rhubarb, or strawberries would work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was a hit! I did change a few things. I doubled the cheesecake portion, cut the sugar to 3/4 cup, and used a 1/2 cup of sour cream. In the blueberry topping I cut the corn starch in 1/2 as someone suggested, and cut the sugar. I wouldn't cut the sugar in the Blueberry topping again, it wasn't quite sweet enough. After these changes, it was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I only used the recipe for the cheesecake and didn't do the topping, but instead poured a can of cherry pie filling over the top. Was very delicious and thanks for a perfect recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMIESAPP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I haven't eaten the "pie" yet, but I did listen to some of the other bakers and I think it is going to be absolutely fabulous! First, I only had cinnamon graham crackers, not plain. I have an abundance of fresh berries and used a full quart (4 cups) mixed with 3/4 cup water and the cornstarch, etc. I didn't use all the sugar as per everyone's saying it was overly sweet. Also, the picture was of a PIE....not an 8x11 glass dish. I opted for the glass dish (8 1/2 x 11). I also used 12 oz cream cheese and 1/2 cup sour cream and a dash of vanilla. I think it will be wonderful....without the cool whip (yuk)..only whipped cream or ice cream for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe was sooooo good! I omitted the whipped cream topping because I didn't have any and it was great without it. I also made the dish in a 9x13 pan.. so I doubled the crust and cheesecake portion. I don't think I should make this again because I had no self control with it in my refrigerator.. I really could not stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Baby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States