Blueberry Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Excellent and five stars with a few changes. This recipe had a good foundation, but also had some glitches, an unnecessarily large amount of sugar being one of them. I worked with this just a little and came up with a dessert that three people nearly devoured completely at one sitting and made a cheesecake lover out of one of them (that would be Hubs, who insists no cheese of any kind belongs in dessert). I reduced the butter to 5 T. in the crust and the sugar to 2 T. - graham crackers, of course, are already sweet! With the fairly standard rule of thumb for cheesecakes in mind of 1 pkg. cream cheese to 1 egg and 1/4 cup sugar, I added an extra package of cream cheese to the filling, along with a teaspoon and a half of vanilla. The topping is just fine as written, I just subbed frozen, sliced strawberries for the blueberries in order to use what I had available. Real whipped cream was the finishing touch. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I read the reviews and "kicked this up a notch" so to speak. Anyways I used 2 cups of graham crackers, 7 tbs butter, doubled the cream cheese as everyone else suggested, added 1 tsp vanilla to the cream cheese mixture, as well as 1/2 cup sour cream. I kept the sugar amount in the blueberries. Then I cooked everything in a regular cheesecake pan. This was the hit of yesterday's picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnstown, New York, USA
Living In: Gloversville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Great dessert recipe! Take my advice and double the cheese mixture and bake for 30 min. use a 9 by 12 in. pan, I don't think they make an 8 by 12 in. Also you get many more servings for this than stated, I also used 1 C. butter in the crust, it helped to stay together better. Also, tastes great without the cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I think this had potential, but as a virgin cheesecake baker I wish the recipe indicated I should cool the cheesecake layer before adding the blueberries. Everything blended and I wound up with soup. Lesson learned, but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I made this with fresh picked wild blueberries and it was amazingly good, but a bit too sweet. I cut it in half, but is didn't seem sweet enough. Next time, 3/4 of a cup. I didn't double the cream cheese layer, but I thought it was still great -- it gave it a subtle cheesecake flavor, but the blueberries really stood out. I made it in a 8 x 12 glass casserole dish and it was very pretty. This was the hit of the picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Excellent! I took the advice of others and double the cheesecake layer and I'm glad I did. This was super easy and was gobbled up very quickly. I'll definitly be making this again, and will experiment with other fruit. I think cherries, rhubarb, or strawberries would work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was a hit! I did change a few things. I doubled the cheesecake portion, cut the sugar to 3/4 cup, and used a 1/2 cup of sour cream. In the blueberry topping I cut the corn starch in 1/2 as someone suggested, and cut the sugar. I wouldn't cut the sugar in the Blueberry topping again, it wasn't quite sweet enough. After these changes, it was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I only used the recipe for the cheesecake and didn't do the topping, but instead poured a can of cherry pie filling over the top. Was very delicious and thanks for a perfect recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMIESAPP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I haven't eaten the "pie" yet, but I did listen to some of the other bakers and I think it is going to be absolutely fabulous! First, I only had cinnamon graham crackers, not plain. I have an abundance of fresh berries and used a full quart (4 cups) mixed with 3/4 cup water and the cornstarch, etc. I didn't use all the sugar as per everyone's saying it was overly sweet. Also, the picture was of a PIE....not an 8x11 glass dish. I opted for the glass dish (8 1/2 x 11). I also used 12 oz cream cheese and 1/2 cup sour cream and a dash of vanilla. I think it will be wonderful....without the cool whip (yuk)..only whipped cream or ice cream for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe was sooooo good! I omitted the whipped cream topping because I didn't have any and it was great without it. I also made the dish in a 9x13 pan.. so I doubled the crust and cheesecake portion. I don't think I should make this again because I had no self control with it in my refrigerator.. I really could not stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Baby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States