Blueberry Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Excellent and five stars with a few changes. This recipe had a good foundation, but also had some glitches, an unnecessarily large amount of sugar being one of them. I worked with this just a little and came up with a dessert that three people nearly devoured completely at one sitting and made a cheesecake lover out of one of them (that would be Hubs, who insists no cheese of any kind belongs in dessert). I reduced the butter to 5 T. in the crust and the sugar to 2 T. - graham crackers, of course, are already sweet! With the fairly standard rule of thumb for cheesecakes in mind of 1 pkg. cream cheese to 1 egg and 1/4 cup sugar, I added an extra package of cream cheese to the filling, along with a teaspoon and a half of vanilla. The topping is just fine as written, I just subbed frozen, sliced strawberries for the blueberries in order to use what I had available. Real whipped cream was the finishing touch. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I love love love this recipe, and so does my family. I did change it slightly, I lowered the sugar in the crust and doubled the cream cheese. oh yeah and i let everyone put on their own whip cream or cool whip individually, also I used frozen berries and added no liquid since they were frozen they had plenty after thawing, and use less cornstarch, it works great but that much makes a horrible flavor if you ask me.:) thankyou for such a wonderfull recipe. we shall enjoy it many more days to come :) its a five star if you try it my way and others who reviewed !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was a great way to use up my summer stash of blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good pie! I cheated and used a ready-made graham cracker crust but it still tasted great. I also added a few tablespoons of lemon juice to the cheesecake mixture and to the blueberry mixture and did not top with whipped topping. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Very good! I think next time I will make a little extra of the crust so it can be thicker because it was delicious and a good texture with the cheesecake and blueberries. Also the topping tastes a little strange to me when it's super cold, so I would recommend pulling it out of the fridge a couple hours before serving. The pie was delicious though. We even made the topping again to put on pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
The flavor was good but I had a terrible time with the crust baking hard as a rock on the bottom that I could barely get it up. Also, the blueberry topping didn't set very well and kind of mixed into everything... not sure what happened here but it didn't turn out well for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I haven't eaten the "pie" yet, but I did listen to some of the other bakers and I think it is going to be absolutely fabulous! First, I only had cinnamon graham crackers, not plain. I have an abundance of fresh berries and used a full quart (4 cups) mixed with 3/4 cup water and the cornstarch, etc. I didn't use all the sugar as per everyone's saying it was overly sweet. Also, the picture was of a PIE....not an 8x11 glass dish. I opted for the glass dish (8 1/2 x 11). I also used 12 oz cream cheese and 1/2 cup sour cream and a dash of vanilla. I think it will be wonderful....without the cool whip (yuk)..only whipped cream or ice cream for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I never made cheesecake that wasn't from a box until now! This came out so good and was easy to make. I just need to practice making it look pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
It needs to cook for more than 15 minutes. I used ready made pie crust. I followed the suggestions and doubled the cream cheese and added 1/2 cup sour cream, but next time I will double the whole cream cheese mixture and add sour cream. I used strawberries, very good topping, any fruit would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was a hit! I did change a few things. I doubled the cheesecake portion, cut the sugar to 3/4 cup, and used a 1/2 cup of sour cream. In the blueberry topping I cut the corn starch in 1/2 as someone suggested, and cut the sugar. I wouldn't cut the sugar in the Blueberry topping again, it wasn't quite sweet enough. After these changes, it was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States