Blueberry Cheesecake Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This is the best ice cream ever!! I was feeling lazy so I threw in a can of blueberry pie filling and two store-bought graham cracker crusts near the end of the churning instead of making them myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! Next time I will crush my blueberries, as they became little blueberry ice cubes once frozen. Don't limit yourself to just this one flavor. I use the ice cream base from this recipie with lots of other add-in's and flavors. It's easy to prepare and the texture is smooth and creamy, unlike most homemade ice cream that I have made in the past that turned out icy and grainy. This one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This may very well be the creamiest ice cream I've ever had. My brother in law (who is SO picky) said it tastes just like Cold Stone! I wasn't too keen on using up the whole quart of cream (as it's so expensive, and I didn't want it to be TOO rich!), so I used 3 cups cream and 3 cups whole milk (instead of a quart of cream and 2 cups milk). It was PERFECT. Also, the cheesecake pudding was AWESOME in this. I debated on using cream cheese and am REALLY glad I didn't! The pudding was probably BETTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I made this ice cream yesterday morning to serve as dessert later that night. The end result was really, really good but I did make some changes; and when I make it again, I will further refine the recipe. I kept the blueberry sauce the same (used frozen blueberries) and it was good. I made the graham cracker crust the same, but next time I will use about 1.5 cups of crumbs and no sugar. The crumbs are sweet enough on their own considering you're adding them to ice cream and you do need to reduce the amount of crumbs (or increase the amount of butter), because I didn't really get a crust, it was very crumbly. I did chance the ice cream significantly, I used 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, 1.5 cups of 1% milk and 1.5 cups of table cream. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup (I will further reduce it to 1/2 cup next time). The biggest change I made was to omit the pudding and used real cream cheese. I microwaved about 4 oz and whisked it until it was just little lumps, then I cut up another 2 ounces into tiny squares and added that. The end result was really good, but a bit too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
No eggs and no cooking... Count me in!I doubled the recipe for my 6 quart ice cream maker. I used 1 quart heavy cream and 2 quarts half and half. I reduced the sugar in the cream mixture by one third, and it was just right. I subbed strawberries for blueberries and followed another reviewer's suggestion by using prepackaged graham cracker pie crust in place of the graham cracker mixture. This is the best ice cream I've ever made, and I've made a lot of ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Made this for a dinner party and it was fantastic! I prepared exactly to the recipe using fresh blueberries. The graham filling was a "crumbly" consistency after cooking and did not get soggy in the ice cream(even after a few days).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was awesome!!! So rich and creamy. I left out the graham cracker crust part and used raspberries instead of blueberries. Everyone raved about it. My Mom is going to go buy and ice cream machine just because of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This recipe ROCKS!! The whole family loved it. It was nice and creamy! The recipe made way more graham cracker mixture, just bagged and stuck it in the freezer to use the next time I make this ice cream. Which may be once a week the way the family has been asking for it. Thank you so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written with the exception of doubling the blueberry mixture as I had double the amount of berries to use. I'm glad I did as half wouldn't have been near enough. That, and the fact the recipe calls for fresh or frozen berries yet doesn't direct to increase the cornstarch if using frozen causes it to lose a star (very important to do, and a beginner cook may not know that). Please don't be tempted to shortcut and buy your graham crust. Store bought ones just don't have the flavor and texture. This one was delicious and crunchy and the cinnamon really adds a lot to the overall flavor. This whole recipe really isn't a lot of work anyway. It is sinfully rich and delicious! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States