Blueberry Cheesecake Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Soooo good and I'm the type who prefers a more sinful flavor like chocolate! I mashed my blueberries up as another reviewer said hers froze into solid little balls. I made in my 2 qt. Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker, but the recipe was a bit too much for it to handle. It was still very soft after 45 mins. of churning and began to expand over the top attachment. I will cut the recipe in half next time. Due to the overflow I served the ice cream as is and put out the blueberry sauce and graham cracker crumble as toppings. It was eaten every which way and boy was it a hit! The graham cracker crumble was especially delicious and was difficult not to snack on in general. The only disappointment was that the ice cream became rock hard once it was stored in the freezer. This is likely due to the addition of sugar and instant pudding. Next time I will make with fat free Half & Half instead of milk and omit the sugar and pudding all together which will yield a soft and creamy texture even after fully freezing. If you choose to use the sugar, I recommend cutting down the 1.5 cups- way too much! One-half cup at most is sufficient. Thanks for such a wonderful treat! I will be making many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written with the exception of doubling the blueberry mixture as I had double the amount of berries to use. I'm glad I did as half wouldn't have been near enough. That, and the fact the recipe calls for fresh or frozen berries yet doesn't direct to increase the cornstarch if using frozen causes it to lose a star (very important to do, and a beginner cook may not know that). Please don't be tempted to shortcut and buy your graham crust. Store bought ones just don't have the flavor and texture. This one was delicious and crunchy and the cinnamon really adds a lot to the overall flavor. This whole recipe really isn't a lot of work anyway. It is sinfully rich and delicious! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I made this without the graham cracker crust because I like my ice cream without chunks in it. This was fantastic! I made half the batch and used the whole box of Sugar Free Cheesecake Instant Pudding. My husband went to the store and didn't get the regular kind... but this was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This has been my best ice cream recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msciceley
Home Town: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My daughter asks me to make this when she is craving home made ice cream. This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
BEST ice cream i've ever had!....my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berdet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is so good! I used 1 quart of half and half, and 1 pint of heavy cream for the "milk". I omitted the graham crumble, and just made it as Blueberry Ice Cream. I also doubled the blueberry sauce as other writers suggested. Fantastic, will be a regular rotation in my summer treats! This was my first attempt at homemade ice cream, and I guess I lucked out on a good recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Michael, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Very good; thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Family thought it was delicous, but I wanted more cheesecake flavor. I don't think it helped that I used frozen blueberries. It was good, but next time, I will try less sugar and perhaps swirl in a bit of graham crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreCoffeePlease

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
No eggs and no cooking... Count me in!I doubled the recipe for my 6 quart ice cream maker. I used 1 quart heavy cream and 2 quarts half and half. I reduced the sugar in the cream mixture by one third, and it was just right. I subbed strawberries for blueberries and followed another reviewer's suggestion by using prepackaged graham cracker pie crust in place of the graham cracker mixture. This is the best ice cream I've ever made, and I've made a lot of ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States