Blueberry Cheesecake Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
The concept of this recipe is fantastic - love the blueberry sauce and the graham crust. It is a lot of extra work but I think it's worth it to make it fresh (especially with fresh-picked blueberries). The ice cream itself needs some work. I don't like cooking with pudding mix and this confirms my opinion. It was too airy and soft and the flavor was just OK. I am going to look for a true cheesecake ice cream recipe for next time. Also, cut the graham cracker mix in half - that was plenty. The amount definitely overwhelmed my ice cream maker so make sure to do half one day and the other half the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
So yummy! The graham cracker 'crumbs' are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
One of our favorites. Guests can't get enough. I make it with vanilla pudding instead of cheesecake but it's delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this when I had guests in from out of town. It was a BIG hit and everybody kept eating it. It takes a little bit to get through all the steps, but it is worth it--I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I really like using pudding as a stabilizer. I'm going to explore more options using the fluid to pudding amounts in this recipe. BUT, the ratios of cream to milk are way too high in this recipe giving a greasy mouth feel. I did the math on an online calculator and determined this milk/creams in this ice cream amount to 25% milkfat. Well no wonder it's so greasy. I'm going to try it next time using half and half for the whole thing and see what happens. I'm hopeful that the pudding will add the stabilizers to keep it from getting too icy and the lower milkfat will keep it from being too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This ice cream is out of this world. I made it for a family gathering and everyone went nuts over it. It does taste just like the premium ice cream you might find in a gourmet ice cream shop, or maybe something Ben & Jerry's would put out. I used frozen strawberries (which I sliced) instead of blueberries and it was outrageous. Very sweet and creamy and it did taste a lot like strawberry cheesecake. The recipe is a little confusing because it doesn't say what to do with the extra ice cream mix that is left after you fill the ice cream freezer 2/3 full. Do you use it later as part of this recipe? Do you use it for another batch? I read the recipe several times and was not sure, so I decided it must be extra to make another batch, so that is what I will do. Also, this amount of graham cracker mixture is (in my opinion) way too much. I used about half of it, and it still seemed like a lot (the graham cracker mixture has the potential to overpower the flavor of the ice cream if you use too much of it.) I think you can safely HALF the amounts for the graham cracker mixture and you will have plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
We made this today and it really isn't ice cream. It's more like a home made whipped cream and pudding mixture. Although it is great tasting whipped cream, it's not ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
My family's favorite ice cream mix. And the recipe is so versatile - have exchanged raspberries and lime for the blueberries, and crumbled waffle cone for the "crust." Everyone loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Yum Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States