Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Because I've had a quart of buttermilk to make use of and have been making lots of "Buttermilk This and Thats," I've learned very quickly what an incredible, stark difference in moisture real, fresh buttermilk makes in batters! SO much better than using soured milk, or powdered buttermilk, and so much better than not being included at all (I offer the "Black Magic Cake" from this site as proof!) The crumb is soft, tender and moist, just as it is in this cake as well. This cake is not overly sweet, so I hope no reviewers will dock it for that - it is a coffeecake, after all, not a dessert cake, although for my tastes it's perfectly suited for dessert too! For those of you familiar with "Blueberry Buckle," either the butter or shortening version, this coffeecake is similar...but better because the cake is significantly more moist, fluffy and has a more delicate texture. The ingredients and preparation method are perfect as written, tho' those wanting more "spunk" could certainly add some cinnamon to the crumb topping, or swap out the blueberries for other berries, or even use a cinnamon swirl or fruit filling (peach sounds awesome to me)! The crumb topping is what it should be, somewhat crackly and buttery, not cloyingly sweet or greasy. This batter is so basic, and so good that I'll be including this recipe in my reference file. Once again I'm convinced that any batter-type recipe with buttermilk in its list of ingredients is worth giving a second glance to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I haven't tried this recipe but in reading the reviews someone said the blueberries all sank to the bottom. To prevent this add the blueberries to the dry mixture and make sure they are well coated with the dry ingredients before adding the wet. This also works for raisins & nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
It's about time I rated this recipe because I have used it so much with great success. It's great just the way it is, but is also really easy to amend to your needs. I usually halve this recipe and bake it in an 8x8 inch glass pan with great success. The halved recipe also did well in a 9 inch springform pan IIRC. I halved the amount of baking powder in the original recipe in order to get rid of that metallic taste that comes with using too much. You could also try making baking powder using baking soda and cream of tartar which would also not leave a metallic taste. I have started adding a very small amount of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I use 1/8 tsp when I make the full recipe. Just a tiny bit really adds something. I too added brown sugar instead of white to the topping, which made it look much better. I also like to use oil instead of butter which creates a cake that keeps very well, moist, and you don't have to spend time creaming it. for a lower fat cake I have tried substituting water for half the oil, but this made a slightly tougher cake. I might try applesauce sometime instead. I add the oil to the wet ingredients. whole wheat pastry flour mixed in with the white flour also worked quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I thought the cake was very good. I took the suggestions from the other reviewers and went with the lemon flavoring instead of vanilla; used brown sugar for the topping and added 1 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg to the topping. Makes a very large cake, and takes about an hour to bake. I will make this again, only if I have to feed a crowd. Thanks Tricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
I made a half recipe in an 8x8 pan, baked for 55 minutes and had no problems with sinking blueberries. I took this to a birthday party and left with just my pan! It's very light and not too sweet. Side note: I mixed it all with a whisk, that may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I catered a PTA Board breakfast meeting last week and made this coffeecake, plus other coffeecakes, muffins, casseroles, etc. The Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake was a HUGE hit! There were no leftovers and 2 board members used their fingers to get the last crumbs from the pan. I only made 1 change to the recipe: I added 1 tsp cinnamon to the topping. I can't wait to try this coffeecake again with other fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This is a great coffeecake, very moist and delicious! I made it with half blueberries, half blackberries, added 1 cup white chocolate chips... for the topping, I added a tsp cinnamon and a 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. It was a big hit at the office! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Delicious and plentiful! Easy to make, rises well, and disappears almost immediately! for the topping, I used brown sugar and added in cinnamon and nutmeg. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This is truly a great cake. I baked it in a 10" x 15" jelly roll pan @ 350 for 1 hr. I doubled the topping using 2/3 c white sugar, 2/3 c brown sugar and 1 tbs cinnamon. I also used about 3c of berries sprinkled on top. The result was wonderful..EVERYONE LOVED IT!! I'm going to try peaches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was one of the best coffeecakes I've had in a long time! It was sooooo moist and yummy! I used 2 cups of frozen raspberries insstead of blueberries. The possibilities are endless with this very versatile recipe. You could use just about any fruit, and also add nuts to the top. Thanks so much for the recipe, I can't wait to make it again!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States