Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
7.31.11 Divine! :)'Was thinking I didn't like blueberry muffins or coffeecakes, etc-since I'd tried so many with only ok(to me)results-UNTIL NOW! Yu-uh-um!I made some minor changes out of necessity & reviews.Used 3/4c sugar&it was sweet enough.Used 3c blueberries.Blueberry bushes.:)'Didn't have buttermilk so I subbed plain nonfat yogurt.I had to add a little milk to it since I was short.It was a cup&a half plain nonfat yogurt&a half cup milk.'Used a 9.5x13.5 & it took an hour,five to ten minutes.Very good!Oh,as for the"blueberry issue."My batter was quite thick.'Thinking the yogurt is responsible.Some berries were on the bottom,but I think it was due to the pouring of the batter in the pan more than their actually sinking.I attempted to flour-coat them,but since they were dry it didn't stick.Sooo, with the batter being so thick,the flour trick may not be so necessary or just work on slightly damp berries. 2.1.12'Tried with brown sugar&2c berries. Surprisingly,at least for the brownsugarlovin'girlthatIam,not as good-& the extra cup from try1 isn't too much.Also,tried 'em as muffins,25-30 min.What pretty muffins!'Only did6& the rest in a pan.Watch 'em closely.Since you can't see the batter due to the topping,it's hard to see overbrowning.Still good though!OH, one more thing!I'm using frozen homegrown(sweet)blueberries.'Don't thaw 'em or you'll have purple batter&smushed berries! 11x14donein45.11x14 topg amt: 3/4c+2Tflour&sugar,1/2cbutter TRINA8/25/06review: crm chz filg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great recipe. I subbed canola oil for the butter and left off the topping - for a delish, light, muffin-like cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This turned out to be good and moist. I can understand why some thought it may be a bit bland...I think it could have used some more blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I had no problems with my fresh blueberries sinking. It is very moist and a perfect coffee cake. It rose beautifully. The only reason I tried this recipe is because I had buttermilk I needed to use up and now I will have to buy buttermilk for this recipe alone! A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Very nice! I made half this recipe in an 8” square baking pan and baked for 50 minutes. I followed the recipe exactly, but I had intended to add some chopped pecans to the topping and forgot. I dusted my blueberries with flour before adding to the batter but most still sank to the bottom, but that could have been my berries, as some were pretty large. This was the perfect recipe to use up one cup of leftover buttermilk I had on hand. I’ll make this again with the pecans for a little added crunch and texture. Thanks for the recipe BATA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This coffee cake is moist and delicious. I used 2 cups of fresh raspberries, and as per other suggestions swapped brown sugar in the topping and added some cinnamon. MMMMMMM! So good I made another one for our neighbors with blueberries. With both cakes, I did have the problem with my berries sinking to the bottom. Overall, very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Went to bake this the night before Mother's Day. At 10:30 pm my oven decided to go out on me! I didn't have choice but to cover the dish and refrigerate it until the next day. I was worried if it would work or not since my blueberries were frozen when I added them to the mixture. I baked this 13 hours after I mixed it up....AND it was wonderful. Not a thing lost by refrigerating this so long. It was enjoyed by all and went nicely with the Denver Omelet Pie from this site. Thanks BATA for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Wonderful coffee cake. I did switch out the topping sugar to brown sugar and added some walnuts. Tweaked it alittle by adding cinn and nutmeg also. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I used brown sugar in the crumble topping, made a half recipe, and baked it in an 8 x 8 dish for 55 min. Otherwise all else was as is. It was very yummy! Between myself and my husband we polished it off in 2-3 days. He wanted me to instantly make another. We were eating it for desert, with the crumble topping, it was plenty sweet enough. The cake part came out just like my reduced fat muffin recipe from Joy of Cooking (in other words, it was good). It was not dry at all, nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe as written was easy to make and delicious. I added cinnamon to the crumb topping to give it that extra kick and it was great. I am going to use this as my base recipe and change the berries up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States