Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I split this recipe into two 8" cakes, following the recipe for one and substituting honey for the sugar in the other. The honey cake was awesome. The sugar cake tasted a little flat to me and maybe had a little too much 'tang' from the buttermilk. Used the food processor to mix up the topping and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Fabulous!!! Even my picky 11 yr old liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This coffee cake was a hit at our potluck brunch! MUCH better than most coffee cakes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made it exactly as written and it was moist but not worth making again or wasting blueberries. I wouldn't bother trying to fix it. I only fix recipes that start out good and this one didn't. It could be 2 stars but I only gave it one because of all of the 5 stars that modified it to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is a wonderful cake. Don't even think of not using real buttermilk! I followed the recipe to a tee and it came out wonderful. It's tempting to want to use brown sugar and cinnamon for the topping, but I used the white sugar as written and it was delcious. Perfect with a cup of coffee on the porch at the lake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I typically cringe when I read reviews where the person has changed so many aspects I ask myself "why did this person review"? With that said, I did make this coffee cake only adding the zest of one lemon to the topping. This is a large coffee cake and without the added dimension of another flavor, the blueberries could have become repetitive and/or lost. But the basic recipe is good, you could also add a bit of orange zest to the topping too. But traditionally bakers do use lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I added about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon to both the cake's dry ingredients and to the crumble on top. I also substituted brown sugar for sugar in the topping. I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan. It took about an hour and came out moist, evenly baked, and absolutely delicious! Long live buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The cake was good but next time dont add the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very tasty! I made this using fresh strawberries instead of blueberries and it was devoured within a day or two! I definitely agree with other reviews, add brown sugar & cinnamon to crumb topping. Not a very sweet cake. Next time I make this, I may increase sugar to 1-1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I've made this a few times since finding the recipe. Very yummy and easy cake! Won't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States