Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made this recipe for work - it was moist and delicious. It makes quite a bit of cake too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Smith
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I think this is a great coffee cake recipe. My kids said, "This is absolutely delicious!" I had a little leftover buttermilk after this recipe, so I made a little powdered sugar drizzle with the buttermilk to go over the top, but it really didn't need anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Good basic recipe. Like the fact that most of the ingredients are staples. Topping is optional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
My family really enjoyed this crumbcake. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the crumb topping. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I split this recipe into two 8" cakes, following the recipe for one and substituting honey for the sugar in the other. The honey cake was awesome. The sugar cake tasted a little flat to me and maybe had a little too much 'tang' from the buttermilk. Used the food processor to mix up the topping and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Fabulous!!! Even my picky 11 yr old liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This coffee cake was a hit at our potluck brunch! MUCH better than most coffee cakes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made it exactly as written and it was moist but not worth making again or wasting blueberries. I wouldn't bother trying to fix it. I only fix recipes that start out good and this one didn't. It could be 2 stars but I only gave it one because of all of the 5 stars that modified it to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is a wonderful cake. Don't even think of not using real buttermilk! I followed the recipe to a tee and it came out wonderful. It's tempting to want to use brown sugar and cinnamon for the topping, but I used the white sugar as written and it was delcious. Perfect with a cup of coffee on the porch at the lake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I typically cringe when I read reviews where the person has changed so many aspects I ask myself "why did this person review"? With that said, I did make this coffee cake only adding the zest of one lemon to the topping. This is a large coffee cake and without the added dimension of another flavor, the blueberries could have become repetitive and/or lost. But the basic recipe is good, you could also add a bit of orange zest to the topping too. But traditionally bakers do use lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States