Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Very nice! I made half this recipe in an 8” square baking pan and baked for 50 minutes. I followed the recipe exactly, but I had intended to add some chopped pecans to the topping and forgot. I dusted my blueberries with flour before adding to the batter but most still sank to the bottom, but that could have been my berries, as some were pretty large. This was the perfect recipe to use up one cup of leftover buttermilk I had on hand. I’ll make this again with the pecans for a little added crunch and texture. Thanks for the recipe BATA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This coffee cake is moist and delicious. I used 2 cups of fresh raspberries, and as per other suggestions swapped brown sugar in the topping and added some cinnamon. MMMMMMM! So good I made another one for our neighbors with blueberries. With both cakes, I did have the problem with my berries sinking to the bottom. Overall, very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Went to bake this the night before Mother's Day. At 10:30 pm my oven decided to go out on me! I didn't have choice but to cover the dish and refrigerate it until the next day. I was worried if it would work or not since my blueberries were frozen when I added them to the mixture. I baked this 13 hours after I mixed it up....AND it was wonderful. Not a thing lost by refrigerating this so long. It was enjoyed by all and went nicely with the Denver Omelet Pie from this site. Thanks BATA for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Wonderful coffee cake. I did switch out the topping sugar to brown sugar and added some walnuts. Tweaked it alittle by adding cinn and nutmeg also. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I used brown sugar in the crumble topping, made a half recipe, and baked it in an 8 x 8 dish for 55 min. Otherwise all else was as is. It was very yummy! Between myself and my husband we polished it off in 2-3 days. He wanted me to instantly make another. We were eating it for desert, with the crumble topping, it was plenty sweet enough. The cake part came out just like my reduced fat muffin recipe from Joy of Cooking (in other words, it was good). It was not dry at all, nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe as written was easy to make and delicious. I added cinnamon to the crumb topping to give it that extra kick and it was great. I am going to use this as my base recipe and change the berries up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco&Bailey's
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Delicious!This is really good!Not too sweet.Nice buttermilk flavor.Topping is really good.I halved the recipe and baked in 8x8 square pan.Perfect.Definitely keeper!Will make again when I get fresh blueberries.Frozen works also.DO not mix too much after blueberries were added so that batter doesn't turn blue!Writing review made me want to go get some blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco&Bailey's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
The topping on this coffee cake ruined it for me. It needs a brown sugar topping. I wish I had read more of the reviews as know I see others suggest that as well! I gave it to my husband to bring to work, not worth the calories to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
ok... a little bland. I added a little cinnamon, next time I'll adding a little more and some nutmeg. It did bake up beautifully and the topping was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I make only half the suggested amount for the topping, which is plenty. I also use frozen blueberries. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States