Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Yummy, moist and not super sweet. The crumble on top was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I'd probably half this next time because it was so huge! I only needed 45 min for the 9x13. Used frozen blueberries and 1 C wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I had about a cup of leftover buttermilk that I wanted to use up before it expired, so I whipped up a half batch. Everyone in my family loved this. The frozen blueberries were perfect with it. I also added some lemon zest since other reviewers recommended it. I didn't measure how much, but it was a HUGE lemon, bigger than my fist, and I zested just over half of it. I wouldn't think to make it with peaches, since they're not a berry, but after reading the reviews, I'll probably try that next. The coffee cake was a tad bit on the denser side than I imagined it, but then again, I've never made anything with buttermilk before (except last weeks cookies) so I didn't really have any concrete expectations. I thought the topping was perfect and not too sweet. My mother, however, has no sweet tooth whatsoever (and is diabetic on top of that) and took the topping off her piece after tasting it, claiming it was too sweet. I will definitely be making this again. Super easy recipe and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I though this tasted good, although I dont have a lot of experience with crumb cakes. I was kind of surprised with how dense the batter was that the actual cake was so soft. I found, I preferred this better the next day as the texture was more sturdy. Overall, this tasted like a mix between cake and a blueberry muffin to me. My favorite part was the fresh blueberries I had to use for it. Only change I made was making 1/2 recipe and baking in my Nordicware 9x9 sized pan. It worked perfectly. I cut it into 12 muffin sized square pieces of cake. The serving size was plenty and it cut the calories in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Not my favorite. Followed the recipe as is only doubled the topping. The cake itself was very bland. The best part about it is the topping. Cake not sweet at all even for a coffee cake. Maybe sugar the blueberries before stirring in the batter. I won't be making this recipe again. Off to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I followed the directions and made no changes. The crumb topping was excellent and cake was moist, not overly sweet which I liked. Batter was thick so dont let that make you second guess. Makes a very big cake so it will be great for a large family or event. Definately a keeper and will make many times again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
One of my husband's favorite desserts. Soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This recipe was a hit at work! My co-workers especially enjoyed the crumb topping. Very moist cake too! Though I did make a few alterations to the recipes- I used 2 cups of all-purpose flour and 2 cups of whole wheat flour. I also replaced the blueberries with chocolate chips. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good and moist. The buttermilk really changes the texture and keeps it from drying out. The only change I made was to use brown sugar instead of white and added some cinnamon to the streusel topping. I made a half recipe in an 8"x8" pan and used 3/4 of a recipe of the topping (we LOVE streusel!). My boyz loved it. Ate it for dessert last night and again for breakfast this morning. Thanks for a really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is very delicious. I followed this recipe to the letter, but this took over an hour and a half to bake! I used the recommended size pan, but next time I will bake in a different size pan, so it won't take so long to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States