Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Delicious. I made this exactly according to the recipe, but baked it in two springform pans - one 8-inch and one 9-inch. We used one for a Sunday-morning birthday cake and got compliments from the neighbors on the other. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was really good. As suggested by many others, I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar and added cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Delish!!! I think I will make 1 1/2 times the topping next time, or maybe even double it. This is a really good recipe. Everyone in my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Terrific recipe. I used 10x15 pan and doubled the topping substituting brown sugar for the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Just like this site, this cake was fabulous! I added nuts and a teaspoon of cinnamon to the crumb topping as others suggested and everyone raved over this cake. So moist and flavorful, wonderful texture and great presentation if baked in a 9" springform pan. [Although you do not have to use all the batter if baked in a springform pan.] Thanks for making my research to find the best coffeecake so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I know what I like in coffee cakes and was looking for something to use up some boysenberries. The recipe was modified quite a bit: replaced 1 cup of flour with whole wheat flour, decreased sugar to 1 cup. The topping had the most revisions: added 2/3 cup oats, 1 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 cup chopped walnuts and used brown sugar instead of white sugar. This was spectacular. I will keep this recipe handy to use for any berry coffeecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This does make a large cake. I didn't use as much sugar as it calls for and it still turned out fantastic. Everyone loved it and was asking for the recipe. I will use this one again but when I have a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was really good when I made it for Easter brunch. I tossed the blueberries with a little flour to prevent them from sinking. I added some chopped pecans to half of the topping (we have both nut lovers and nut haters in the family) and sprinkled half of the cake with plain topping and half with nut topping. I actually preferred the plain side and I usually like nuts. I will add this to my recipe box and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is a absolutely wonderful accompaniment to a hearty breakfast for many. It is a coffeecake with good body to it and no sinking blueberries here. It was great and I will do this recipe again when serving a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
We all love this one. Buttermilk is the secret that sets this apart from others. Advice from others is helpful for substitutions, tips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I think this bread could have been a bit sweeter, and mine turned out chewy for some reason. Overall not bad but could use improvements; I may try it again and add different things (such as more cinnamon and sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefasheroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States