Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was really good when I made it for Easter brunch. I tossed the blueberries with a little flour to prevent them from sinking. I added some chopped pecans to half of the topping (we have both nut lovers and nut haters in the family) and sprinkled half of the cake with plain topping and half with nut topping. I actually preferred the plain side and I usually like nuts. I will add this to my recipe box and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is a absolutely wonderful accompaniment to a hearty breakfast for many. It is a coffeecake with good body to it and no sinking blueberries here. It was great and I will do this recipe again when serving a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
We all love this one. Buttermilk is the secret that sets this apart from others. Advice from others is helpful for substitutions, tips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I think this bread could have been a bit sweeter, and mine turned out chewy for some reason. Overall not bad but could use improvements; I may try it again and add different things (such as more cinnamon and sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefasheroo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This coffee cake was excellent! I cut the recipe in half but pretty much followed the original. I did use about 1 1/4 cup buttermilk instead of 1. Also used frozen blueberries, partially defrosted. For the struesel topping I used 1/2 brown sugar and put in a little cinnamon. Baked for 48 minutes in a dark pan. The blueberries did sink to the bottom despite dusting them with flour but no matter. It was perfect - very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Exceptional! The only modifications I made were as follows: halved the recipe, used an 8x8 dish, sub'd almond extract for the vanilla, added 1/4c crushed toasted almonds to batter, added 1/4c crushed toasted almonds to topping. This was truly exceptional. Great flavor, extremely moist and not at all difficult to make. I recommend this highly and would definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I've made this about 10 times and just LOVE it. It is best if a little undercooked rather than overcooked. No one seems to mind to goo. It tastes so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I love this cake. My friends asked me for recipe. I put blackberries and raspberries instead.I was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Excellent. I used fresh blueberries and dusted them with flour and they stayed throughout the cake. The buttermilk makes the batter thicker which helps keep the berries suspended, but also gives you a tangy, moist cake. The white sugar topping adds a nice finishing touch. This is the best blueberry cake recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GERRIERPH1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is a very easy recipe to make and does it ever make plenty. I cut the recipe in half and made a 8x8 pan filled to the brim. It did take about 20 minutes longer to cook than in the instruction stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States