Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
In a word? WOW! I made this into jumbo muffins (an even dozen) and they're spectacular. Moist and flavorful. I incorporated a tsp of freshly grated lemon rind and used lemon extract in place of vanilla (since I adore the combo of lemon and blueberry) and substituted Splenda for half the sugar (to make them more diabetic friendly.) They rose up nice and high. I skipped the crumb topping, opting to merely give a shake of pearl sugar instead for sparkle. I'm sure it would be fabulous with the streusel, but this recipe is so good, it makes a delicious product all on its own without any adornment. Be aware that your product will not get overly brown on top, so don't keep baking, expecting that to happen - you'll end up with a dry cake. Coat the blueberries with some of the flour called for. It will keep the berries from sinking to the bottom. Also, wait until the very last second to gently fold in the blueberries to avoid having a purple-blue "smurf cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was easy to make and an instant success at my dinner party. There were only 4 of us, so I took the rest to work and it didn't last long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
One of the best coffee cakes ever! Followed the recipe exactly. The buttermilk gives it a great moist texture. The flavor was right on, not overly sweet. Will definitely be making this one again and maybe trying it with other types of fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
The cake is delicious. I also doubled the crumb topping but used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar with 1 cup of flour and used same amount of butter. I also made a powdered sugar glaze. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This cake is amazingly good. It makes a very large cake and my 9 x 13 pan was big enough but the butter from the topping leaked onto the bottom of my oven a bit. Next time I know to either make it in 2 pans, or line the oven. The only change I made to the recipe was using semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of berries to appeal to the masses and everyone loved it. I want to try this recipe as muffins someday. Great texture all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe ! First time I made this coffeecake ...I had blueberries and was great ! Second time I used wild saskatoon berries and recieved rave reviews ! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Because I've had a quart of buttermilk to make use of and have been making lots of "Buttermilk This and Thats," I've learned very quickly what an incredible, stark difference in moisture real, fresh buttermilk makes in batters! SO much better than using soured milk, or powdered buttermilk, and so much better than not being included at all (I offer the "Black Magic Cake" from this site as proof!) The crumb is soft, tender and moist, just as it is in this cake as well. This cake is not overly sweet, so I hope no reviewers will dock it for that - it is a coffeecake, after all, not a dessert cake, although for my tastes it's perfectly suited for dessert too! For those of you familiar with "Blueberry Buckle," either the butter or shortening version, this coffeecake is similar...but better because the cake is significantly more moist, fluffy and has a more delicate texture. The ingredients and preparation method are perfect as written, tho' those wanting more "spunk" could certainly add some cinnamon to the crumb topping, or swap out the blueberries for other berries, or even use a cinnamon swirl or fruit filling (peach sounds awesome to me)! The crumb topping is what it should be, somewhat crackly and buttery, not cloyingly sweet or greasy. This batter is so basic, and so good that I'll be including this recipe in my reference file. Once again I'm convinced that any batter-type recipe with buttermilk in its list of ingredients is worth giving a second glance to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This coffeecake was a hit at church and at home. This recipe makes a very full 9 x 13 pan so don't make it unless you're planning to feed a lot of mouths. Used the cinnamon in the topping as recommended & also made 2 batches of topping. 1 1/2 of the topping was about just right. Dusting the blueberries with flour helped somewhat. Cooking time was definitely closer to 1 hr. Recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
What a super recipe! I used Blackberries and it turned out beautifully. The topping is very nice, you must include it when making this recipe. It rose pretty high and makes a nice presentation. Great recipe as is! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This cake looks impressive especially on cake platter with a glass cover - but I wish it had tasted as good as it looked. It was ok - not great. Ina Garten's sour cream coffee cake is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States