Blueberry Buttermilk Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
One of the best coffee cakes ever! Followed the recipe exactly. The buttermilk gives it a great moist texture. The flavor was right on, not overly sweet. Will definitely be making this one again and maybe trying it with other types of fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
The cake is delicious. I also doubled the crumb topping but used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar with 1 cup of flour and used same amount of butter. I also made a powdered sugar glaze. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This cake is amazingly good. It makes a very large cake and my 9 x 13 pan was big enough but the butter from the topping leaked onto the bottom of my oven a bit. Next time I know to either make it in 2 pans, or line the oven. The only change I made to the recipe was using semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of berries to appeal to the masses and everyone loved it. I want to try this recipe as muffins someday. Great texture all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe ! First time I made this coffeecake ...I had blueberries and was great ! Second time I used wild saskatoon berries and recieved rave reviews ! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Because I've had a quart of buttermilk to make use of and have been making lots of "Buttermilk This and Thats," I've learned very quickly what an incredible, stark difference in moisture real, fresh buttermilk makes in batters! SO much better than using soured milk, or powdered buttermilk, and so much better than not being included at all (I offer the "Black Magic Cake" from this site as proof!) The crumb is soft, tender and moist, just as it is in this cake as well. This cake is not overly sweet, so I hope no reviewers will dock it for that - it is a coffeecake, after all, not a dessert cake, although for my tastes it's perfectly suited for dessert too! For those of you familiar with "Blueberry Buckle," either the butter or shortening version, this coffeecake is similar...but better because the cake is significantly more moist, fluffy and has a more delicate texture. The ingredients and preparation method are perfect as written, tho' those wanting more "spunk" could certainly add some cinnamon to the crumb topping, or swap out the blueberries for other berries, or even use a cinnamon swirl or fruit filling (peach sounds awesome to me)! The crumb topping is what it should be, somewhat crackly and buttery, not cloyingly sweet or greasy. This batter is so basic, and so good that I'll be including this recipe in my reference file. Once again I'm convinced that any batter-type recipe with buttermilk in its list of ingredients is worth giving a second glance to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This coffeecake was a hit at church and at home. This recipe makes a very full 9 x 13 pan so don't make it unless you're planning to feed a lot of mouths. Used the cinnamon in the topping as recommended & also made 2 batches of topping. 1 1/2 of the topping was about just right. Dusting the blueberries with flour helped somewhat. Cooking time was definitely closer to 1 hr. Recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
What a super recipe! I used Blackberries and it turned out beautifully. The topping is very nice, you must include it when making this recipe. It rose pretty high and makes a nice presentation. Great recipe as is! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This cake looks impressive especially on cake platter with a glass cover - but I wish it had tasted as good as it looked. It was ok - not great. Ina Garten's sour cream coffee cake is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
doubled the crumble topping, and that worked well. I did mess up a bit with the temperature, and slightly burned some of the top, but that picked off easily. Now i have to decide if I should share this at work, or hoard it for myself... Next time I might not bother doubling the topping, the recipe really lets the fresh wild blueberries be the star. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Delicious! I just wish there was a way to keep the topping from getting mushy after being covered overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States