Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I thought this recipe was excellent. I don't understand some reviewers changing the recipe around and then rating it based on the changes. It should be rated on the original recipe--that's what people are reading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
837 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Looking for something to make with blueberries, I came across this recipe, one I've been making exactly, for over 40 years. I have never found it necessary to change it at all. It is moist, bursting with berries, with a beautiful streusel topping. For me to repeat a recipe as I have with this one, for more times than I could ever count, speaks volumes about this wonderful cake. Another example of how perfection needn't be tinkered with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
505 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I double the recipe and use a 9 x 13 pan. I don't double the fruit, though. I use 2 cups of fruit for a 9 x 13 pan, there's still tons of fruit in the cake. I've also used raspberries, huckleberries, and black berries in this recipe, all of which came out great! Just make sure you toss the fruit in a tablespoon or so of flour before adding them to the recipe, that way the fruit will not sink to the bottom. These are best served with vanilla ice cream and a few berries sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
My friends raved about this blueberry treat and my husband devoured it. I substituted butter for shortening, added 1 teaspoon vanilla, cut the flour to 1-1/2 cups and cooked it for 40 minutes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This was very good-the crumb topping alone was sooo delicious. I took in all the reviews and this is what I came up with. I used butter instead of shortening, added in 2tsp vanilla, used 1 1/2 cups of flour and 1/4 heavy cream 1/4 milk for the liquid for a richer flavor(can also use 1/2 cup sour cream instead which makes it very tasty too). As far as the topping- I as well used 1/4 cup brown and 1/4 white sugar. I don't think you need to add any extra blueberries-there was plenty. It is a very heavy batter so don't be fooled when you can't pour it into the pan-just spoon it in and spread it around. Does take like 50+ minutes to bake-so keep checking the middle til your knife comes out clean. Def a keeper! If making for a larger crowd..double and bake in a 13x9 inch pan for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
After reading previous reviews, I used only 1 1/2 c. flour, substituted half butter for the shortening, and added some vanilla (1-2 tsp.) It was wonderful! My husband always eats my treats with a big glass of milk - but he said he didn't even need it with this buckle because it was so moist and light. I also cooked it on 350 instead of 375 for about 40 minutes - remove it when a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out completely clean! Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
GREAT! That's what my husband said when I asked him how it was! Definitely don't skimp on the berries! That's what makes it so moist. I did add a tsp. of vanilla and used butter instead of shortening, but I beat the batter with an electric mixer (up to the berries) and used all two cups of flour when I alternated the adding of the milk and flour. It raised beautifully in an 8x8 pan and the top crumb crust was lovely. I baked it for 45 min. Will DEFINITELY make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
After reading through reviews, I made several changes that resulted in very yummy results: Decreased flour to 1-2/3 cup, added 1 tsp almond extract to the milk before mixing it all in, used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar (instead of 1/2 cup of just white sugar), and melted the butter. I also doubled the ingredients and baked in a 9x13 pan at 375 degrees for 40 minutes, then turned it off and let it sit for another 15 minutes. The almond extract complemented the blueberry flavor perfectly, and the smell was divine. The use of melted butter and brown sugar also made the topping nice and crunchy. I brought it to a potluck so it was still a bit warm from the oven, and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. I don't understand why everyone gives this recipe a high rating but then writes in the review that they made a million modifications. I made the mistake of following the recipe to a T and it ended up taking over an hour to cook (the edges burned while the middle was still soggy after the hour,) the crumb mixture was more like a paste and the total outcome was a dry mess of a what should be a blueberry buckle. I certainly won't follow this recipe again, but I will try one like it with all the modifications in place. Please people, don't give recipes a 5 star rating if you made any kind of modification to it, that is very misleading!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
This is a great recipe for fresh blueberries. I took the advice of the other reviews and used 1 1/2 cups of flour, added 1 tsp. of vanilla and used 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar for the topping. I also extended the baking time by about 10 minutes. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States