Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made exactly as written, but since I don't use shortening, I used slightly less than 1/4 cup of canola oil. It was delicious and even my picky son (when told it was a blueberry muffin in the shape of a cake) liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is delicious. Not too sweet. My husband said he could eat the whole pan. I made the recipe exactly as written except for adding 10 minutes to the baking time. The batter was very stiff. I did not add extra milk. I carefully folded the blueberries in and then spread the mix into the pan. Will make this again and will probably add a bit of vanilla to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have made many times and people love it. I have also made it in a 11x8 pan because I already had one in the oven in the 8x8 pan. Both come out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammylkj726

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLIDAWN
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This cake was very moist and I loved the crumble on top! I made a few changes: instead of using shortening I used butter. For the 1/2 cup milk I used 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup half and half. For the berries I used 1 cup blueberries and 1 cup strawberries, plus they were frozen. For the Cinnamon in the crumble topping, I increased it to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious exactly as made. Great flavor and just the right amount of sweetness. The only thing I noticed is that it needed a longer cooking time. Make sure center is not giggly before taking out. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Incredible recipe, tastes fantastic. Do yourself a favor and make this 1 small addition, you will not regret it. Add 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp almond extract. I have made this recipe 2 times this week for 2 different groups and I am not kidding when I tell you I had 10 requests for me to make them and sell them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Waters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Cake was very moist and tasty, but I found the topping to be too hard - would prefer more of a crumbly texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I've made this twice and both times have had to increase the bake time from 25-30 minutes to 40-45. Other than that, absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy to make and great cake. I made a few changes. 1) substituted brown for white sugar in the cake itself. 2) instead of shortening and butter I used applesauce to help lower the fat content. It added a little to the cooking time but not bad. And the change in the topping made it more of gooey goodness instead of a crumble. But everyone seemed to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Delicious, no-fail way to use fresh blueberries! I made this for a 4th of July party and many people went back for seconds. It was GONE!This one is going in the recipe box. The only modification I made was to the bake temp and time. For an 8x8 pan, I baked at 350 for 40 minutes and it was perfect. For 12 muffins, I used liners and filled 3/4 full and baked at 350 for 30 minutes and was just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States