Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This recipe was fantastic and loved by all who ate it--even adapted to be vegan (you couldn't tell)! It was light and fluffy and rich and delicious. Beware, it is a rather dense dough--my version felt like I was pressing cookie dough into a pan, but it still baked up like cake. Here are the recipe changes I made based on other reviews and also to make it vegan: 1. Reduce to 1.5 cups of flour 2. 1/4 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown sugar for the topping 3. Replace egg with 1 Tbsp. ground flax seed mixed with 3 Tbsp. water (allow to sit for 5 min.) 4. Replace milk with coconut milk 5. Replace butter and shortening with coconut oil and just rub everything in with fingers 6. Added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. almond extract (if I did it again, I might reduce the almond to 1/2 tsp.) 7. Bake for 50 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Tried this and turned out great. Coworkers loved it! I didn't make any substitutions or changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jasmine P
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Delicious!!! I needed to bake it about 15 minutes longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I've made many a crisp and cobbler, but this blueberry buckle tops them all! i followed the recipe exactly, except for replaceing the shortening with butter. Served with vanilla ice cream and had a great dessert every night this week! My husband liked it also. Thanks for the recipe jBS Box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jonathan Lewis
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
We were given a fresh batch of blueberries and decided to make this recipe with them. It was excellent and very moist as others have said. We didn't add anything to the recipe but did sprinkle a butter based icing glaze on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very good, I added one more cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Ridenour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzie
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Easy, smells wonderful, tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I had to bake mine for nearly an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
My Blueberry Buckle recipe includes a simple lemon sauce to warm up and drizzle onto each serving. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Scrumptious way to serve blueberries. I used fresh blueberries, more than 2 cups. I had to bake it 10 minutes longer so it wouldn't be dough-y in the middle. My family loved it, whole pan gone in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States