Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sunmn
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
OMG it is so good! I substituted butter for shortening because I was out. Divine served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Made this yesterday, very good. My only substitution was butter for the shortening since I never use shortening. The cinnamon topping was so good. It is a very dense cake, being like coffee cake, I'd be tempted to put a little sour cream and a little less flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Easy and delicious. I followed the original recipe, except I used all butter, since I no longer use shortening. No need to change anything else or make any adjustments. As others have noted, this makes a very thick batter. Spread into pan; not really pourable. Do NOT dilute with additional milk or other liquid. I too had to increase baking time to ~45 minutes. The cake was light and moist. Since there is just me, I liked the fact that this recipe makes a small (8" X 8") cake. I shared it with my neighbors across the hall. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I added a cup of chopped strawberries to this recipe and substituted margarine for shortening. I also added 15 minutes to the cooking time. The recipe came out great. My wife, who doesn't eat dessert, had two slices. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I have made this recipe 3 times and it has been delicious each time. The first time, I used blackberries instead of blueberries, and they were fine, but not as nice as blueberries. The only changes I make is to use softened butter instead of shortening and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup in the batter. I find it easier to just take a stick of butter and split it between the batter and topping than to deal with shortening. I cut the sugar to reduce the calories. It's fairly easy and with the fruit and topping, it's always yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Very good, followed the recipe exactly I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
So good, as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This is the exact recipe from Betty Crocker's cookbook, second edition, dated 1956. My grandmother, my mother, and myself have all made this recipe many times. It needs no changes, it is perfect the way it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Yum yum!!! Great recipe! I did double it to make a 9x13 pan but only used 3 cups vs 4 of blueberries, and it was a perfect amount for us! Otherwise no other changes. Oh baked it for about 45 minutes, perfect! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I had to make 3 different coffee cakes for a breakfast carry-in at school, and this recipe was one of them. It was the most favored amongst the staff, but my least favorite to cut and serve. The buckle has great flavor, but, it is so moist I couldn't get clean cuts. The flavor is spot on. I really enjoyed the topping on this and the crunch that it added. I would make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing, JBS BOX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 974) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States