Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe was deeeeelicious! I will agree with some reviews - mine also took at least 15mins longer to cook than stated in the recipe, but as long as you keep an eye on it and don't let it cook too long, it turns out great. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So delicious! I added about 1/2 cup more blueberries because I tend to like more of a fruit flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is more like a cake. I followed the recipe just as written. I didn't add applesauce instead of shorting or or use half the flour to cut calories. Another reviewer said that these are key components to the recipe and I agree. Adding a dash of cinnamon or vanilla is one thing, but the fat and gluten is something that has to stay. With that said, the cake was good - not great, but good. The blueberries did not fall to the bottom like some reviews had issues with. The cake itself has just the right amount of sweetness. If you take off the topping it would be much better. The topping was paste like and very sweet, not crumbly. I spread it over the cake anyway and when I had my first bite I took the topping off. Way to much sweetness for one cake. Also - the cooking time if off. It took my cake 45 minutes to complete baking, not the 30 as suggested. To sum up - bake the cake for 45 minutes and skip the topping. It will be much better. It's still a keeper. Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I have to agree with some of the other reviews. Using this recipe as is leads to a dry half cake/half muffin. Without the sugar topping it would be close to very plain/boring. We ended up adding ice cream (for breakfast). With some changes I'm sure it could be improved, but I don't expect to have to change a 4.5 star recipe with that many reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I had 3 cups blueberries and based on other reviews I doubled the other ingredients except for sugar (used 1-1/3 cups) and added 1 teaspoon vanilla. I didn't have milk so used whole milk yogurt instead. Baked for an hour in a 9x13 pan; watched it carefully last 20 minutes I covered the edges with aluminum foil since they cooked faster than the center. Rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made several modifications as per other reviewers, and the results were still so-so. It tasted decent when it was warmed with some whipped topping on it, but when it was room temp, it had no appeal and was bland. I may or may not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This cake is very moist and has a rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
It was very tasty. I did not want to sub anything but I ended up using buttermilk, insted of regilar milk, because I had it in the fridge. I also substituted 1/2 cup of blueberries with reaspberries. It came out like a coffee cake. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was great! I used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour and replaced the shortening with butter. I prepared the topping with a pastry blender, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe the only thing I did differently was switch the white sugar for brown sugar, I used the 2 cups of flour and had no problem blending it, patted it down in an 8x8 pan took about 40 mins to cook.I did find the cake a little drier than I would like. I didn't mix the blueberries but floured them then added on top of the batter and pushed in carefully so not to mush them..the fruit stayed on the top with the delicious topping and was very moist on top, so maybe I will cut back on the cooking time next try, hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 912) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States