Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe is great. I did add an extra egg, but only because my eggs were very small. The batter is thick, but it comes out in a perfect consistency when cooked. I thought it was fabulous! Mine had to cook about 45 minutes at 350 to get done. I cooked it in a thick ceramic 8x8 pan. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina B in KC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lake Waukomis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Have made this recipe several times and it is delicious as is but I do prefer to use 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white sugar in the topping and I add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the flour mixture before mixing it in when I remember. As the directions state, I use 3/4 cup sugar in the batter, not the 1/2 cup shown in the ingredient list. It usually takes 40-45 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this recipe hoping it would turn out like my great grandmothers... and it was EVERYTHING I wanted! the mix looked almost lumpy but once you bake it it comes out perfect, not crumbly, greasy, or dry. I made it and couldn't bring myself to share the batch! I did add some oats to the top layer and broil the top at the end for color though: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Tried this recipe and it was very good! I was a dummkopf and forgot the cinnamon in the topping, but it was still delicious. My kids ate it right up. I used unthawed frozen blueberries instead of fresh, and it increased the cook time significantly, but it turned out fine after I put a cookie sheet on the rack under it to shield it from the heat a bit. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soulcoffr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This was PERFECT AS IS. My family devoured it! The cake is moist the struesel ontop is crunchy and full off flavor. OMG it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
A little lackluster on sweetness but pretty and nice tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written (as I always do the first time around) and it was excellent. Nice weight, balance of sweetness, and wonderfully moist. All of my workmates agreed and that rarely happens. Work both as a coffee cake or after dinner treat. I used a nonstick 9x9 enameled ceramic pan as it was the only pan available at the time. Even with the larger pan, it rose just above the edge. Again, a winner recipe just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I accidentally added the 1/4 cup butter to the shortening when I creamed it with the sugar. However, the only thing it did was lengthen the cooking time. The taste was still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This cake was so dry and dense. I absolutely could not eat it. Even though its packed with berries that could not save the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
When I was mixing the batter it seemed really dry so I thought it was going to be dense, but I was seriously wrong! It is so light and fluffy, perfect balance of sweetness and my boys described it as "the best dessert ever!" I agree and it would also be great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 940) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States