Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This cake was so dry and dense. I absolutely could not eat it. Even though its packed with berries that could not save the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
When I was mixing the batter it seemed really dry so I thought it was going to be dense, but I was seriously wrong! It is so light and fluffy, perfect balance of sweetness and my boys described it as "the best dessert ever!" I agree and it would also be great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
The end result turned out well, but the directions were a little misleading. For me, the batter was more of a dough, it wasn't pourable in the slightest. I mixed the berries as best as i could, and then just flattened it into my baking pan. After that i just put more berries on top and lightly pushed them into the batter. The crumble top also seemed to be a little less crumbly than anticipated, It was a little more soft and mushy then it was crumbly. All that said, the thing still tastes and looks great. I have no idea how a "buckle" should turn out, so I'm pleased with how it turned out. It did take a little over 30 minutes as well, and i moved it up a rack in the oven towards the end to brown the "crumble" topping. 4/5 for misleading directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Gladfelter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I am not sure what happened to mine but it was ok. Fit to eat but not what I was expecting. The batter was super thick so I added extra milk maybe 1/2 cup, I do not recommend that. Then it took about an hour to cook and it was very gooey. I think it would be very good had I followed the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Loved this! Baked exactly as written & delicious. It would also be good using vanilla & sour cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
So good! Don't make it in a 8x8 pan. Make it in a 9x13 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I can't really review the recipe as is as I didn't even attempt to try it as written based on all the reviews, though my 3 star rating was based on the fact that the changes I made were great. I could see it being dry using 2 cups of flour, so I reduced it to 1 1/2 cups, I used butter in the whole recipe, no shortening, more flavour! I added 1 tsp vanilla for flavour too. And it was a must to use brown sugar instead of white for the topping. The result: a beautifully moist and flavourful cake with delicious berries and a delightful crispy topping. With above mentioned changes, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
We loved this recipe! It sure made my kids happy. I used frozen blueberries thawed out, and that worked for us. Can't wait to make it again when I have fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was easy to make and tasted great!! I was a little nervous with how thick the batter was but it cooked up just right!!! I have to say to everyone thinking of making this - please make it as stated and review it as so. It is not fair to change up the ingredients/amounts and then rate the recipe according to your changes. Rate it for what it is and THEN give your suggested changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for church brunches and dessert any time. It has a crunchy top, is not too sweet, and everyone loves it. Cooking time should be increased to 40 minutes, as in other reviews, but don't go too long or the topping will be too crunchy! Have also made with raspberries. Suggestion to those who think it has too much flour: sift before you measure or use cake flour. This is a great recipe. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Town, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States