Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious exactly as made. Great flavor and just the right amount of sweetness. The only thing I noticed is that it needed a longer cooking time. Make sure center is not giggly before taking out. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Incredible recipe, tastes fantastic. Do yourself a favor and make this 1 small addition, you will not regret it. Add 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp almond extract. I have made this recipe 2 times this week for 2 different groups and I am not kidding when I tell you I had 10 requests for me to make them and sell them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Waters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Cake was very moist and tasty, but I found the topping to be too hard - would prefer more of a crumbly texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I've made this twice and both times have had to increase the bake time from 25-30 minutes to 40-45. Other than that, absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy to make and great cake. I made a few changes. 1) substituted brown for white sugar in the cake itself. 2) instead of shortening and butter I used applesauce to help lower the fat content. It added a little to the cooking time but not bad. And the change in the topping made it more of gooey goodness instead of a crumble. But everyone seemed to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Delicious, no-fail way to use fresh blueberries! I made this for a 4th of July party and many people went back for seconds. It was GONE!This one is going in the recipe box. The only modification I made was to the bake temp and time. For an 8x8 pan, I baked at 350 for 40 minutes and it was perfect. For 12 muffins, I used liners and filled 3/4 full and baked at 350 for 30 minutes and was just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This blueberry buckle turned out wonderful! I made the recipe exactly except used half brown sugar and half white sugar for the topping. The cake itself was very moist, bursting with blueberries, soft but fluffy. The crumbs were tender and the cake cut very well into squares and held together well. I used fresh picked blueberries and it was just perfect. Will be baking this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ming
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Delicious. Can also be made without fruit. Additionally, yogurt may be used instead of milk. Double the recommended amount of topping though and lengthen suggested cooking time, as mentioned by reviewers--mine needed 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The results were great but I had to use more than double the milk to get a batter I could mix the blueberries with. It was still very thick and needed a little smoothing out to fill the pan, as it still wasn't what you would call "pourable." I used a Splenda substitute (Ingles' Exquisite), which might have caused the problem. But I repeat, the results were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RMP20
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Just came back from the farm with fresh blueberries. This recipe is excellent as is. I did use half white and half brown sugar just because I love brown sugar! The only comment is that the batter is more like cookie batter rather than Cake batter so don't let that confuse you. Fast and easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States