Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I tried this recipe last night. It required much more milk than the recipe stated. It came out very dense and bland. This definitely was not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I am only giving this recipe a 3-star coz my cake texture turned out dry and rather hard, despite sticking to its original 2-cup of all purpose flour, milk and exact shortening ratio like what the original recipe had called for. The batter was so thick that the air bubbles in-between the berries cannot be deflated and I regretted against following the rest of reviewer to lower the flour ratio to 1 1/2 cup instead. The 3-star is rated for its beautiful presentation and delicious strussel topping. However, I will not do it again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I only had frozen blueberries so It had to cook for about 10 more minutes. My husband liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made this for the first time two days ago. My husband loved it and is already asking me to make it again. I followed the recipe exactly as written, although I had considered reducing the amount of blueberries. So glad I chose not to, the berries made it so moist. The topping made it just perfect. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Used 3/4 blackberries and 1/4 blueberries. I eyeballed the butter and sugar so that may make for off results but so far so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Mmm so good! I followed the actual recipe and did not substitute anything. My baking time did change however. I baked as directed for 25 mins. at 375. The middle was still gooey so I covered the whole thing in aluminum foil, decreased by oven by 10 degrees and left it in there for another 20 mins. I did double the recipe but realized that I only had about 2 1/2 cups of blueberries...no worries! It is a still a perfect amount of fruit and the taste is so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Salisbury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This cake was so delicious! I think the only thing I would change next time is do 1 1/2 cups of flour instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This cake was moist, yummy and bursting with berries. I brought it to work and it was devoured. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups. I was planning to add 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the cake, but forgot until after it was in the pan, so I added it to the topping mixture instead and it was delicious, I will do that intentionally from now on. It smelled so heavenly while it was baking that it was torture to wait to try it until the next morning. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was very yummy! I wanted it more healthy so I used 1/2 Stevia and 1/2 sugar, used butter instead of shortening and ground oatmeal instead of flour - though I could have used wheat flour. Was very good even with the changes. I threw in some raspberries too. Baking time was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
YUM! I baked full time + 3 minutes and it was still under cooked in the middle. Berries could have been cut in 1/2 and it still would be delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 942) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States