Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This is the exact recipe from Betty Crocker's cookbook, second edition, dated 1956. My grandmother, my mother, and myself have all made this recipe many times. It needs no changes, it is perfect the way it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Yum yum!!! Great recipe! I did double it to make a 9x13 pan but only used 3 cups vs 4 of blueberries, and it was a perfect amount for us! Otherwise no other changes. Oh baked it for about 45 minutes, perfect! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I had to make 3 different coffee cakes for a breakfast carry-in at school, and this recipe was one of them. It was the most favored amongst the staff, but my least favorite to cut and serve. The buckle has great flavor, but, it is so moist I couldn't get clean cuts. The flavor is spot on. I really enjoyed the topping on this and the crunch that it added. I would make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing, JBS BOX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I would say this recipe was unremarkable. I made it exactly as indicated on the original recipe. I did double it and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. The unbaked mixture was more of a dough than batter. I did not double the blueberries but wonder if that would have added moisture. They underlying flavor was a little bland and I wonder if butter and vanilla would improve the taste. My guests said they liked it but no one asked for the recipe. So.... maybe they were just being polite?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I liked this. The cake itself is not too sweet (the topping is). It highlights blueberries well and has a really nice fluffy but still substantial texture. I did add a bit of vanilla, and used butter rather than shortening, but otherwise the only change I made was the baking time. Mine took over 40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was surprisingly good for as simple as it is. Dense, flavorful and moist, I ended up sending the leftovers home with grandma, and she's the baker in the family... So I guess it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed some other recommendations and cut the flour to 1 1/2 cup of flour the first time I made this recipe, and used 1 tsp of vanilla. I also cream together the sugar and butter BEFORE adding in the egg. The second time I made it, I accidentally only put 1 cup of flour, and it still turned out amazing. I used BROWN sugar for the topping instead of white. I think it gives a better contrast to the light colored cake. I have only used fresh blueberries with this recipe. I use a 9 inch circular pan or glass dish. Each time I have made it, it takes about an hour of baking time. Maybe because of the size pan I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Bowles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haochi
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Perfect recipe. Simply delightful. I didn't happen to have shortening with me at the time so I substituted butter and found that it worked as well. Great flavor and perfect texture, moist yet not too dense. A favorite for sure. 5/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I have been making this for years. I have the cook book it was in and the Copyright date is 1964. Good recipes stand the test of time! Don't change a thing and if you must then DO NOT RATE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Just made this with my 10 yr old homeschooled son for cooking class, it was great, lots of measuring and seperate bowls fof him to figure out what goes with what. I didnt change the recipe at all, it took 30 minutes to cook and cane out perfect! My husband is going to be psyched! Thanks All Recipes! God Bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethan Landry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 967) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States