Blueberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
We have updated this recipe to include 2 teaspoons baking powder. The baking powder was omitted due to a typo. We apologize for the confusion. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kwolff
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
I rated this 4 stars because you have to fix the recipe-obviously you would not use 2 teaspoons of salt in a dessert. 1/2 teaspoon is sufficient. Also it is alot more moist using 1/2 c butter/shortening instead of 1/4 c. With these corrections it's the same as the other buckle recipe-excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwolff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Delicious!!!!! I made this for work and everyone raved about it! It turned out moist and even the crumb topping was perfect. I'm getting requests for not only the recipe but to make it again soon. I followed this recipe almost to the T. The only thing I changed was decreasing the salt to 1 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
I also thought this was too dry and "bready". Not enough topping. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This recipe was okay as listed on site. I reduced the salt immediately knowing that 2 teaspoons for a 13x9 was going to be too much. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was better than average, but not great. I decided to try again, and increased the blueberries to 3 pints, used 2/3 C buttermilk and put in 1 t vanilla. I used all the topping (it's a lot, but people loved the topping). It was great warm with ice cream, and I also used it for breakfast and got rave reviews. The recipe needs a bit of tweaking, but now I will be using it often in the summer. I think you could put a teaspoon of almond extract rather than vanilla and get a different but very nice coffee cake, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I liked this recipe. It was easy to make and used ingredients I had on hand. After reading other reviews, I increased the butter to 1/2 c., decreased the flour to 1 1/2 c., and decreased the salt to 1/2 tsp. I also used brown sugar in the topping instead of white. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
I have used this recipe so many times i had to come back to get a new one as the other is so worn. My husband loves blueberries and this is a different way to use them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
I was not impressed with this recipe. It was very heavy. Was the recipe missing baking powder??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
It didn't have a lot of flavor even though I added some vanilla. Not really sure if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I completely screwed up this recipe and it was still delicious. I used whole wheat flower, for a bump in nutritional value. I accidentally put the crumb topping in the wet mix, instead of the dry ingredients, then had to scramble to measure out the right amount of ingredients. I forgot to fold the blueberries in so I layered them over the cake and under the crumb topping. The cake ended up a little drier, but very pretty and tasty. I'm looking forward to making this again the right way. It'll probably be bumped up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States