Blueberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe came out wonderful. I am increasing the butter slightly for personal tastes in regards to moisture. In regards to those who are decreasing the amount of salt, you are also reducing the fluffiness of your batter upon baking. With the amount of sugar and other ingredients the salt isn't tasted in the slightest. This recipe is awesome, I'm making for the third time in just as many weeks. My partner, friends, and family love it...and so do I!!! Great recipe and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is my favorite blueberry breakfast. I've done it before and everyone loved it! I'm doing it for breakfast right now because my mom loves blueberries and it is her birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Great recipe! I also used 1/2 cup butter and cut the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Everyone loved it. I think it would be wonderful with any fresh fruit but really like it with black berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
It didn't have a lot of flavor even though I added some vanilla. Not really sure if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I completely screwed up this recipe and it was still delicious. I used whole wheat flower, for a bump in nutritional value. I accidentally put the crumb topping in the wet mix, instead of the dry ingredients, then had to scramble to measure out the right amount of ingredients. I forgot to fold the blueberries in so I layered them over the cake and under the crumb topping. The cake ended up a little drier, but very pretty and tasty. I'm looking forward to making this again the right way. It'll probably be bumped up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This recipe couldn't be easier to make - all of the ingredients can be found in your pantry - just add berries. I made this for a coworkers birthday - everyone raved. I got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 67mgb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I have a friend that loves to cook as much as I do. She made this and it was amazing!!! My boyfriend loves the crust the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeweljesky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This recipe was okay as listed on site. I reduced the salt immediately knowing that 2 teaspoons for a 13x9 was going to be too much. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was better than average, but not great. I decided to try again, and increased the blueberries to 3 pints, used 2/3 C buttermilk and put in 1 t vanilla. I used all the topping (it's a lot, but people loved the topping). It was great warm with ice cream, and I also used it for breakfast and got rave reviews. The recipe needs a bit of tweaking, but now I will be using it often in the summer. I think you could put a teaspoon of almond extract rather than vanilla and get a different but very nice coffee cake, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Taste was great. Alittle more like a sweet bread than I had hoped for but over all was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Delicious!!!!! I made this for work and everyone raved about it! It turned out moist and even the crumb topping was perfect. I'm getting requests for not only the recipe but to make it again soon. I followed this recipe almost to the T. The only thing I changed was decreasing the salt to 1 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States