Blueberry Buckle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Great recipe! I also used 1/2 cup butter and cut the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Everyone loved it. I think it would be wonderful with any fresh fruit but really like it with black berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
It didn't have a lot of flavor even though I added some vanilla. Not really sure if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I completely screwed up this recipe and it was still delicious. I used whole wheat flower, for a bump in nutritional value. I accidentally put the crumb topping in the wet mix, instead of the dry ingredients, then had to scramble to measure out the right amount of ingredients. I forgot to fold the blueberries in so I layered them over the cake and under the crumb topping. The cake ended up a little drier, but very pretty and tasty. I'm looking forward to making this again the right way. It'll probably be bumped up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This recipe couldn't be easier to make - all of the ingredients can be found in your pantry - just add berries. I made this for a coworkers birthday - everyone raved. I got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 67mgb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I have a friend that loves to cook as much as I do. She made this and it was amazing!!! My boyfriend loves the crust the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeweljesky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This recipe was okay as listed on site. I reduced the salt immediately knowing that 2 teaspoons for a 13x9 was going to be too much. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was better than average, but not great. I decided to try again, and increased the blueberries to 3 pints, used 2/3 C buttermilk and put in 1 t vanilla. I used all the topping (it's a lot, but people loved the topping). It was great warm with ice cream, and I also used it for breakfast and got rave reviews. The recipe needs a bit of tweaking, but now I will be using it often in the summer. I think you could put a teaspoon of almond extract rather than vanilla and get a different but very nice coffee cake, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Taste was great. Alittle more like a sweet bread than I had hoped for but over all was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Delicious!!!!! I made this for work and everyone raved about it! It turned out moist and even the crumb topping was perfect. I'm getting requests for not only the recipe but to make it again soon. I followed this recipe almost to the T. The only thing I changed was decreasing the salt to 1 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I liked this recipe. It was easy to make and used ingredients I had on hand. After reading other reviews, I increased the butter to 1/2 c., decreased the flour to 1 1/2 c., and decreased the salt to 1/2 tsp. I also used brown sugar in the topping instead of white. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I tried this, and even though my husband really liked it, and I thought it okay, my concern is with that "crumble crust". I know I followed the directions as printed, but I'm wondering if that flour/ butter ratio is correct for the crust- it turned kinda goopy and baked up as a fairly hard crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States