Blueberry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and my bread machine directions but it turned green anyway and was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My husband loved this. Dried blueberries were pricey so I tried the blueberry infused Craisins. Perfect!! Will definitely make again. No gluten so I increased the yeast to 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Big bags of dried blueberries are available at costco--not too pricy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallyjack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Great foundation recipe for blueberry bread! Way to go Julie! Some mentioned that their bread turned green, the reason the bread turns green is if the berries are added at the beginning of the bread cycle, you must wait till the second rise cycle (the normal time for additions such as nuts, raisins, etc, to be added.) I thought the bread was fine, but my husband (who is a little finicky) requested some alterations and WOWOWOWOWOW did it turn out great! In lieu of wheat gluten, I used a total of 3 tablespoons of bread yeast. I also used butter instead of oil, added an additional 1/2 tsp of salt, increased the sugar to 4 Tbsp, increased my berry amount to nearly 1 cup, AND.... I added a few drops of coconut extract and vanilla extract. ... We now call it "Oh My God , Bread". Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Used dried blueberries 1st time which was gone by the end of the day. 2nd time I mixed dried blueberries with chopped dried pears. That loaf was also gone by the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This reminded me of the soft interior of a blueberry bagel! I made this according to the recipe and it came out great. My dried blueberries were on the soft side so the dough started to get sticky when they were being mixed in. I watched over it and added small amounts of flour, as needed, during that part of the kneading cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My family loves this bread. My 2 year old can not get enough. I make it on the weekends and it goes great with breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My family loved it. I used sour milk instead of buttermilk and had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was great bread;. Very easy and a big hit with the group of toddlers and moms I served it to. It's also delicious with cream cheese on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I made this bread this morning for brunch and it was yummy. I used 2tsp bread machine yeast instead of the active dry yeast and wheat gluten. I also used regular milk and lemon juice since I didn't have any buttermilk. I didn't have any problem with the loaf rising and the texture was great. Some of the blueberries got chewed up in the kneading which gave the bread a green color so my toddlers wouldn't touch it (more for me!) but there were still whole blueberries in every bite and the loaf had a good flavor. I ate it right out of the machine with butter this morning and am looking forward to toasting some with butter or cream cheese later. I did have to add a good bit of flour during the second knead to get the dough to form a good ball but the end result was great...I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States