Blueberry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My family loved it. I used sour milk instead of buttermilk and had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Used dried blueberries 1st time which was gone by the end of the day. 2nd time I mixed dried blueberries with chopped dried pears. That loaf was also gone by the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My family loves this bread. My 2 year old can not get enough. I make it on the weekends and it goes great with breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This reminded me of the soft interior of a blueberry bagel! I made this according to the recipe and it came out great. My dried blueberries were on the soft side so the dough started to get sticky when they were being mixed in. I watched over it and added small amounts of flour, as needed, during that part of the kneading cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I really love this bread toasted with a little butter. Didn't have any vital wheat gluten so I used 2 teaspoons of yeast instead of 1 1/2. The bread didn't rise as much as regular loaves, but the texture is wonderful - not too heavy. I will definitely make again. (Costco has wild dried blueberries at a significantly lower price - and they're great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Great foundation recipe for blueberry bread! Way to go Julie! Some mentioned that their bread turned green, the reason the bread turns green is if the berries are added at the beginning of the bread cycle, you must wait till the second rise cycle (the normal time for additions such as nuts, raisins, etc, to be added.) I thought the bread was fine, but my husband (who is a little finicky) requested some alterations and WOWOWOWOWOW did it turn out great! In lieu of wheat gluten, I used a total of 3 tablespoons of bread yeast. I also used butter instead of oil, added an additional 1/2 tsp of salt, increased the sugar to 4 Tbsp, increased my berry amount to nearly 1 cup, AND.... I added a few drops of coconut extract and vanilla extract. ... We now call it "Oh My God , Bread". Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Big bags of dried blueberries are available at costco--not too pricy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallyjack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I really enjoyed this bread. I added some lemon juice and used soymilk instead of buttermilk because of my diet, but even so it tasted amazing. I ate it warm, in chunks, covered in soymilk. It's not too sweet, really easy to make, and the dried blueberries didn't break up in the bread machine. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My husband loved this. Dried blueberries were pricey so I tried the blueberry infused Craisins. Perfect!! Will definitely make again. No gluten so I increased the yeast to 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I made this for the kids yesterday, and they seemed to like it. I used 2tsp of yeast instead of the wheat gluten, and it turned out fine. Next time I'll take out just a little earlier than the bread machine's set time for an even better loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States