Blueberry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I really love this bread toasted with a little butter. Didn't have any vital wheat gluten so I used 2 teaspoons of yeast instead of 1 1/2. The bread didn't rise as much as regular loaves, but the texture is wonderful - not too heavy. I will definitely make again. (Costco has wild dried blueberries at a significantly lower price - and they're great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Great foundation recipe for blueberry bread! Way to go Julie! Some mentioned that their bread turned green, the reason the bread turns green is if the berries are added at the beginning of the bread cycle, you must wait till the second rise cycle (the normal time for additions such as nuts, raisins, etc, to be added.) I thought the bread was fine, but my husband (who is a little finicky) requested some alterations and WOWOWOWOWOW did it turn out great! In lieu of wheat gluten, I used a total of 3 tablespoons of bread yeast. I also used butter instead of oil, added an additional 1/2 tsp of salt, increased the sugar to 4 Tbsp, increased my berry amount to nearly 1 cup, AND.... I added a few drops of coconut extract and vanilla extract. ... We now call it "Oh My God , Bread". Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I really enjoyed this bread. I added some lemon juice and used soymilk instead of buttermilk because of my diet, but even so it tasted amazing. I ate it warm, in chunks, covered in soymilk. It's not too sweet, really easy to make, and the dried blueberries didn't break up in the bread machine. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I made this bread this morning for brunch and it was yummy. I used 2tsp bread machine yeast instead of the active dry yeast and wheat gluten. I also used regular milk and lemon juice since I didn't have any buttermilk. I didn't have any problem with the loaf rising and the texture was great. Some of the blueberries got chewed up in the kneading which gave the bread a green color so my toddlers wouldn't touch it (more for me!) but there were still whole blueberries in every bite and the loaf had a good flavor. I ate it right out of the machine with butter this morning and am looking forward to toasting some with butter or cream cheese later. I did have to add a good bit of flour during the second knead to get the dough to form a good ball but the end result was great...I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Big bags of dried blueberries are available at costco--not too pricy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallyjack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This reminded me of the soft interior of a blueberry bagel! I made this according to the recipe and it came out great. My dried blueberries were on the soft side so the dough started to get sticky when they were being mixed in. I watched over it and added small amounts of flour, as needed, during that part of the kneading cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My family loved it. I used sour milk instead of buttermilk and had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I made this for the kids yesterday, and they seemed to like it. I used 2tsp of yeast instead of the wheat gluten, and it turned out fine. Next time I'll take out just a little earlier than the bread machine's set time for an even better loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My family loves this bread. My 2 year old can not get enough. I make it on the weekends and it goes great with breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was great bread;. Very easy and a big hit with the group of toddlers and moms I served it to. It's also delicious with cream cheese on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States