Blueberry Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I thought this tasted good. However, it reminded me a little more of a large bagel than bread. It is a dense and slightly chewy bread. I am not familiar to making bread with added wheat gluten, so not sure if that contributed to that. It is not a very tall loaf either and I assume the recipe was also maybe intended for the older machines that made smaller loaves. I accidentally added the dry fruit at the beginning and not at the beep. As a result the dough was blue, however the final result was a normal looking loaf. After this first knead, and before the first rise, most of the dough seemed to be on one side of the machine due to its density. I gently flattened it some to continue the rest of the process and it baked more evenly. My only ingredient change was souring milk, for the buttermilk. I think that worked fine. I also realized I purchased blueberry juice infused cranberries, instead of blueberries, and that also worked okay. While baking it smelled like a toasted blueberry bagel. It was a little too dense of a bread and a little trial and error, so not a repeat recipe. However, I liked trying a different flavor of bread. I sliced it, with my bread slicer, to have for toast on some mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and my bread machine directions but it turned green anyway and was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My husband loved this. Dried blueberries were pricey so I tried the blueberry infused Craisins. Perfect!! Will definitely make again. No gluten so I increased the yeast to 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Big bags of dried blueberries are available at costco--not too pricy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallyjack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Great foundation recipe for blueberry bread! Way to go Julie! Some mentioned that their bread turned green, the reason the bread turns green is if the berries are added at the beginning of the bread cycle, you must wait till the second rise cycle (the normal time for additions such as nuts, raisins, etc, to be added.) I thought the bread was fine, but my husband (who is a little finicky) requested some alterations and WOWOWOWOWOW did it turn out great! In lieu of wheat gluten, I used a total of 3 tablespoons of bread yeast. I also used butter instead of oil, added an additional 1/2 tsp of salt, increased the sugar to 4 Tbsp, increased my berry amount to nearly 1 cup, AND.... I added a few drops of coconut extract and vanilla extract. ... We now call it "Oh My God , Bread". Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Used dried blueberries 1st time which was gone by the end of the day. 2nd time I mixed dried blueberries with chopped dried pears. That loaf was also gone by the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This reminded me of the soft interior of a blueberry bagel! I made this according to the recipe and it came out great. My dried blueberries were on the soft side so the dough started to get sticky when they were being mixed in. I watched over it and added small amounts of flour, as needed, during that part of the kneading cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My family loves this bread. My 2 year old can not get enough. I make it on the weekends and it goes great with breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My family loved it. I used sour milk instead of buttermilk and had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was great bread;. Very easy and a big hit with the group of toddlers and moms I served it to. It's also delicious with cream cheese on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States