Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
The morning after the bread was much better but a little dry. I added brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, and 1/2 cup OJ. I will make again but with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haugh.Sweet
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used your recipe in my bread machine using it's "Batter Breads" setting. It came out beautifully! I waited until right before the bake cycle to fold in the blueberries so they stayed intact. Not only is it moist and flavorful, it looks pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I thought it was quite dry and could have used more sugar. I will try it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
It was an ok bread, not our favorites. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by everythingwithyou
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I was looking for something to do with blueberries that wasn't a cobbler or pie - specifically, I wanted banana-blueberry bread. This recipe, with a couple tweaks, came out well. I used brown sugar in place of the white and replaced half the flour with whole wheat (and added another half tsp of baking powder to balance it). I completely omitted the oil, and added a lot more fruit - 3/4 cup of mashed banana and another half cup of berries. (The first time I made this, the berries sunk; the second time, I coated them with flour and they floated nicely.) I also added 1 tsp vanilla, although the blueberries have a very strong flavor. Replacing the oil with such a different amount of banana, I was a little worried about the consistency, but the bread rose properly and was neither too wet nor dry. A bit chewier than most breads, but especially after a day or so, it seemed perfectly normal. Very nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everythingwithyou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This bread is very good, I did put 2 tsp of vanilla extract and I doubled the berries so it was full of blueberries!! This is a great base to start with!! Swap out blueberries for raspberries or chocolate chips, add cinnamon and raisins for raisin bread, maybe lemon extract and poppyseeds, or orange juice and dried cranberries!! it's limitless and a great starting point for many breads!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Followed the recommendations of others and used fresh organic blueberries - quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to Twins- Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very good! I added extra sugar as the batter wasn't as sweet as I thought it should be. Hubbie said it was good, but he wanted it sweeter so I may try to the OJ instead next time. I thought it was a great texture, not dry! The blueberries were very good in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly o
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I took the suggestion and added OJ instead of milk and it turned out great ! I also added vanilla and a crunchy topping before baking and I am glad that I did. I am not sure that it would have been as good without it. Here's the topping: Crumb together 1/3 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup butter and 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly o

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was very good and quite moist. Don't forget to coat the blueberries with flour so they don't sink to the bottom of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States