Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
It was an ok bread, not our favorites. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by everythingwithyou
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I was looking for something to do with blueberries that wasn't a cobbler or pie - specifically, I wanted banana-blueberry bread. This recipe, with a couple tweaks, came out well. I used brown sugar in place of the white and replaced half the flour with whole wheat (and added another half tsp of baking powder to balance it). I completely omitted the oil, and added a lot more fruit - 3/4 cup of mashed banana and another half cup of berries. (The first time I made this, the berries sunk; the second time, I coated them with flour and they floated nicely.) I also added 1 tsp vanilla, although the blueberries have a very strong flavor. Replacing the oil with such a different amount of banana, I was a little worried about the consistency, but the bread rose properly and was neither too wet nor dry. A bit chewier than most breads, but especially after a day or so, it seemed perfectly normal. Very nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everythingwithyou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This bread is very good, I did put 2 tsp of vanilla extract and I doubled the berries so it was full of blueberries!! This is a great base to start with!! Swap out blueberries for raspberries or chocolate chips, add cinnamon and raisins for raisin bread, maybe lemon extract and poppyseeds, or orange juice and dried cranberries!! it's limitless and a great starting point for many breads!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Followed the recommendations of others and used fresh organic blueberries - quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to Twins- Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very good! I added extra sugar as the batter wasn't as sweet as I thought it should be. Hubbie said it was good, but he wanted it sweeter so I may try to the OJ instead next time. I thought it was a great texture, not dry! The blueberries were very good in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly o
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I took the suggestion and added OJ instead of milk and it turned out great ! I also added vanilla and a crunchy topping before baking and I am glad that I did. I am not sure that it would have been as good without it. Here's the topping: Crumb together 1/3 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup butter and 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly o

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was very good and quite moist. Don't forget to coat the blueberries with flour so they don't sink to the bottom of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was a good recipe, I liked it. Good flavor and texture. I did make a few changes. I reduced sugar to 3/4 cup (or slightly less) and used turbinado (raw) sugar. It was still plenty sweet. I used 2 tbsp. applesauce and 1 tbsp. butter in place of vegetable oil. I used spelt flour instead of white/wheat and reduced the amount slightly since it is heavier (about 3.5 cups). I used almond milk instead of regular milk. I added a tsp. or so of vanilla and a tiny bit of cinnamon. I wish I had had more or better blueberries for it! Will make again with more blueberries. The whole family liked it and it came out nice and crispy/chewy outside and soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This was a yummy quick bread recipe. I used 2 cups of fresh blueberries (I had a bunch), 2 tsp vanilla, a pinch of cinnamon, a pinch of fresh ground nutmeg, and added a streusel topping. I have to have streusel on my muffins and quick breads ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Very good. I substituted 1/2 the flour with wheat. I sprinkled vanilla sugar on top before baking. I made 4 mini loafs. Good with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States