Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Read reviews before trying out and decided to adjusted as follows: 1 C sugar replaced with 3/4 C packed dark brown sugar + 1/2 C granulate sugar. Replaced veg. oil with melted butter. And added 1 tsp vanilla extract. And increased blueberries to 1.5 C. And saved 1 tbl flour from batter and used to flour blueberries prior to adding to batter. Turned out moist and flavorful. Not too sweet, but sweet enough. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I thought this was very good. I increased the sugar to 1.5 cups based on other reviews, and added 2 tsp vanilla. Didn't have OJ to substitute for milk but it still turned out well. I split the batter into 2 loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Good basic recipe to use with items in your pantry. I did find that the normal loaf pan was NOT big enough, took too long to bake and the top was brown before the middle was close to being done. I lowered the temp on the oven and had to leave in for an additional 40 min. I suggest 2 pans in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was the first bread I have ever made. It was very easy to make and the consistency was nice. I was able to use my 9X5 loaf pan. I put in 1 and a half cups of blueberries and that turned out fine too. However, like other reviewers, I found it was not sweet enough. I expected it to taste like a blueberry muffin, but it didn't. I probably wouldn't make this again, but I will try with other breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
First of all I have to mention that I'm trying out different recipes for my nieces wedding and this one made the list. I did what another reviewer mentioned and added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp of nutmeg. I also did 1/2 cup each of reg sugar and brown sugar. I omitted the nuts because since it will be served at a large event I was worried about nut allergies. The only blueberries I had were frozen so I used 1 12oz bag. The blueberries were unsweetened. I split the batter into 4 mini loaf pans ( 5 3/4 x 3 ) and baked all 4 at once at 350 for 45 minutes. I do think though next time I will increase the white sugar to one cup :) Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
We were very disappointed. The breading itself has no flavor. It was dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This bread is delicious. I served slices of it this morning with a nice hot bowl of oatmeal. Perfect for those winter mornings when your children have to walk to school in the cold. I substituted the oil with apple sauce to cut down on the fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
It came out very bland. I just wish I had read the suggestions beforehand and added something to bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I would LOVE to make this bread! But are the instructions missing the amount of shortening or is it just me?? Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sushi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by .:-Amber.Marie-:.
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:-Amber.Marie-:.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States