Blueberry Boy Bait Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dcorbin
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Awesome! My fiance thinks this recipe has an apt title!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcorbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I did what the recipe said then did what Lindalou did then doubled the blueberries. I then cooked it at the regular time but turned the convection on. So I know that doesn't help everyone but that is what I was able to do. The blueberries were picked within 24 hours they were Concord and Earliblues types. There is so many recipes and I don't often repeat one but this one is a keeper. I used olive oil spray in a can on my pan then put a half cup of flour in a sifter and used it to flour the pan. Shake it around to get the sides then turn it upside down and start banking on it till the clumps come out. Thank you again Ms Lindalou2002
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is one of my most treasured recipes I got from my grandmother. In the '50s, she was famous for making this blueberry cake, which she would frequently whip up for guests. The simple but delicious flavors feel a little retro as compared to more aggressively flavored coffee cakes, but everyone always has seconds (and thirds and fourths) when they try it. This recipe is great as a breakfast coffee cake when room temperature, or it makes for a decadent dessert when you serve it warm with whipped cream. I personally prefer it as coffee cake. It's light and not overly sweet but melts in your mouth. I've seen variations with a little bit of sugar and cinnamon sprinkled on top, but I personally love the buttery flavor of the original. My copy of the recipe calls for a 12x8x2 pan, and I do think that size (if you can find it) makes for a slightly better height to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This went over well at Easter, but didn't knock anyone's socks off. A good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Partial review (in the oven still :D): I made changes, yes, so make your faces if ya want. I don't think they're drastic, but, yes, guilty, I am... I only used 10T butter (that's about 1T less, is all), added 1/2t cinnamon. I beat the eggs well & added those to the milk & then to the dry mixture. With two (yes, two!) cups berries on top, I'm not seeing how whipping the egg whites would have much lightness. :/ I added 4t flour to the berries - they're very juicy (& frozen). I'm baking this at 375 in metal. I floured the pan, too. I figured it wouldn't hurt. :D It's competitor is Blueberry Crumb Bars, in glass. They're both in. :)... 'Done in 40 mins. Results: It's a half (although I gave it a full) star better than its competitor. 'Definitely not bad, but needs a little something to be a higher rating. Maybe sub brown sugar? The cake part is kind of spongy. 'Bet I could use 9T (or even 8T) & it would be notsospongy & still good. The top's a little crisp. I might make it again. Two cups berries were not too much. Three? I'll try that next time, if there is one. :D ... One more thing: This isn't a beauty, it's not ugly, but it's not a "looker" either. Mine looked like the fifth photo. It doesn't fill the 9x13 high enough so maybe a 9x11 would be a better choice. I wouldn't refer to this as a coffeecake as the description says. It's a cake with blueberries in it. :? Huh? :D The 2nd or 3rd day, that itty bitty amount of crunch on top is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Very good, although my blueberries did seem to sink to the bottom....still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We liked this a lot. I added some extra blueberries and a tiny bit of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This tasted amazing! I added 1/2 a teaspoon cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
So good! Simple but perfect! I doubled the amount of blueberries. Planning to go blueberry picking again soon so I can make this again while blueberries are in season but I will definitely be making this year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States