Blueberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I used butter instead of shortning, and I increased the cream cheese to 1 cup. I also added a crumb toping of: 1/2 cup sliced almonds 1 cup flour 3/4 cup oats 1/4 cup brown sugar 1 tsp nutmeg 1 tsp cinnamon 1/2 cup marg 2 tblsp whipping cream and just used my fingers to mix it till crumbly and sprinkled it over the top. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
this was very good. i doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan and baked it 70 minutes. turned out wonderful. thankx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I tweaked this recipe a bit...I used 8oz of 1/3 less fat cream cheese, a pint of blueberries and vanilla instead of almond. More cheesecake like on top, cake-like on the bottom, like a pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Excellent! I altered the recipe by using 3 eggs in the crust (instead of one) and using vanilla. For the topping, I only used 1 egg and 8 oz. of cream cheese. when I placed the blueberries, I sprinkled with cinammon and a little fresh grated nutmeg. This turned out beautifully and was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
These blueberry bars are great! I added a little bit more cream cheese (1/2 cup) as someone suggested and more blueberries. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
Wonder Flavor and really very easy to prepare -- it just takes a while to bake. Refridgeration really enhances the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
My family loved this recipe. The only thing I did different was to add a little sugar and cinnamon on top of the blueberries. There are not like bars, more of a coffee cake, but a great taste! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Very tasty! I used less sugar, butter instead of shortening, vanilla instead of almond, half wheat flour, 2 cups blueberries, and cooked for 5 minutes longer. They are more like cake or pastry than actual bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I really like the dense cake-like bottom layer. These are good as made with 8 oz cream cheese, but next time I'll double the "cheesecake topping", as it's just not enough. " I used all vanilla extract, butter instead of shortening, and added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. I'll make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Not impressed with recipe. Too many other recipes out there that are great. Certainly did not taste like cheesecake. Edges crusty and rest cakelike...even used an airbake pan. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States