Blueberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Excellent! I altered the recipe by using 3 eggs in the crust (instead of one) and using vanilla. For the topping, I only used 1 egg and 8 oz. of cream cheese. when I placed the blueberries, I sprinkled with cinammon and a little fresh grated nutmeg. This turned out beautifully and was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I made this with canned blueberries. I thought it came out really good. I also used low-fat cream cheese with only one egg. Will definately make again, can't wait to try it when fresh blueberries are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
These "bars" turned out more along the lines of a tasty cobbler. It is pleasing to the palate, and my family will eat it, but it is definitely not the cheesecake like pastry that I was expecting. I will attempt to make again some time and see if I did something wrong this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I should've trusted my gut and listened to Robert, Rosaline and ATARAXICA. But, I had 4 oz of cream cheese to use up and GOBS of blueberries. I did heed the warning about "Almond'ness" - and did half & half Vanilla & Almond Extract, where called for. Didn't help. The topping didn't resemble cheesecake at all in any form. Had an "Eggy" taste that just overtook any other flavor. Totally deceiving, as it smelled sooo good when baking. Don't waste your time or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This was actually very good. I made this because I had blueberries in the fridge..fresh ones that I knew were going to go bad if I didn't do something! I also needed to take a dish to a party. So, I made these. I have yet to go to the party, it's tomorrow and I made these tonight. I mixed mine up too, with the topping, with oats, cinnomin, pecan halves, brown sugar and a little flour just put this on top of the cream cheese topping and viloa! It baked a while, but I had my husband try it and he liked it. I made sure he wasn't just "lying" ..lol. I would make this again, although a little on the fatening side, but my family owns a resturaunt and most are over weight anyways, including me just a bit, so I am sure they will love these tomorrow. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baubon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
We didn't think this tasted anything like cheesecake. I usd the amount of almond extract called for and felt it was too much almond flavor, it seemed more almond than blueberry flavor. It was better the first couple of days and got soggy when covered. Instead of a 9 x 9" pan I used a 28 x 18 cm pan and it wasn't too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
They were okay but they didn't have a lot of flavor. When eating them I couldn't help but think I forgot something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
DeeeLish....excellent taste and texture, I will make again and again. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
These blueberry bars are great! I added a little bit more cream cheese (1/2 cup) as someone suggested and more blueberries. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
My family loved this recipe. The only thing I did different was to add a little sugar and cinnamon on top of the blueberries. There are not like bars, more of a coffee cake, but a great taste! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States