Blueberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We think this cake is delicious, however, a cheesecake it ain't. Nor does it taste like a cheesecake. It is a wet-bottomed cake, (in a good way) which keeps it moist. The almond extract gives the cake an exquisite taste along with the blueberries. I think vanilla may be substituted as some reviewers suggest but you'd be missing out; trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
i followed this recipe and found that it turned out so good all I did was added a little more blueberries I recommend this recipe I will definitely will make this again it is a very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candy
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipe is just ok. I have made it twice and won't bother again. It's alright,more of a blueberry coffee cake than anything. Not worth the cost of the berries. But if you have a bunch of berries to use up....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
My family cannot get enough of this. I make it about once a week and they even eat it for breakfast. I made some changes - I use plain vanilla extract because my husband is not fond of almonds and I use the entire block of cream cheese and butter for the shortening. Make sure you cook it for at least 60 minutes otherwise it is mushy. When I make this for company it's gone in a flash. Not too sweet and loaded with fresh (or frozen/thawed) blueberries. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Too eggy and tasted nothing like cheesecake. Hubby loved them, though. So I guess they're not bad, just not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Great treat at the meeting last night. Not a one left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblemount, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I really like the dense cake-like bottom layer. These are good as made with 8 oz cream cheese, but next time I'll double the "cheesecake topping", as it's just not enough. " I used all vanilla extract, butter instead of shortening, and added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. I'll make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Not much flavor. Definitely not a dessert more like a breakfast bread or muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is definitely a winner with my daughter and I. My husband thought it was a little tart. I took some of the suggestions and increased the cream cheese, decreased the eggs and added a dash of cinnamon over the blueberries. Hard to mess thi one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States