Blueberry-Almond Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Overall pretty good. You must let them cool in the pan completely before cutting, and they will stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
They stay together pretty well compared to other homemade bars. I didn't have enough blueberries so I had to substitute with dried dates. I don't cared too much for the maple syrup taste so I might use honey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe has been a really great starting point for us to experiment with. From here we've changed what fruits are included, how much syrup to add, and other small changes too. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Easy to make and tasty. I needed to use up some 1/2 eaten bags of almonds, dried cranberries and blueberries. This worked great. I did add some walnuts to mine because I didn't have enough almonds. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These were great! I substituted pumpkin seeds for the sesame and sunflower seeds, added honey, vanilla, wheat germ, flax seed and greek yogurt and baked them in mini muffin pan—they are great for breakfast with a smoothie—my 13 and 23 year old love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I really wanted to like these because I've been looking for a good recipe for energy bars. However, I thought they were relatively tasteless. They aren't cheap to make either. Before I put them in the oven I tasted them and they just seemed very bland so I added a cup of unsweetened coconut hoping that would give them a little more flavor. Unfortunately, I just wasted the coconut along with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These were good! Easier than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Really good bar, easy to make and very nutricious. Reminded me of the first packaged granola bars you could buy when they first came out when I was young, crunchy and maple tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is definitely one of my favorite recipes. We make these bars quite often and it's a great base to be able to mix and match seeds and fruits based on what you have or feel like having. I often replace the sesame seeds with pumpkin seeds, and use raisins in place of the blueberries (only because I've had a hard time finding dried blueberries lately). I think using a quality maple syrup really adds to the flavor. Thanks for a delicious, easy, and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States