Bluebarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SamDMorrison
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. Even my mother, who doesn't care for pies, loved this one. It served up easily, and the taste was amazing. Blueberry and rhubarb compliment each other well. I only changed a couple of things. So the crust would bake thoroughly and brown nicely, I reversed the length of time for the tin foil to cover the crust. Rather than 50 minutes covering it and 15 minutes browning, I didn't cover the edges until the last 15 minutes. It turned out beautifully. In addition to sprinkling sugar on top, I also brushed the crust with in an egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamDMorrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Perfect recipe! I used fresh blueberries and frozen rhubarb and took the suggestion to add 1/8c of tapioca to the filling. Worked perfectly! My favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My freshly picked blueberries were so good that I was worried that putting them in a recipe would diminish their goodness. This recipe was worth the sacrifice of a few berries! Added 1/8 cup tapioca since some people mentioned it being runny. The consistency was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this pie the other day and it was amazing!! I substituted the lemon juice for a bit of lemon extract and the nutmeg for cinnamon just because that's what I had, and used half whole wheat flour and half regular white flour. I bought my crust from Trader Joe's. I loved this pie and so did the other people who tried it. I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Delicious recipe!!! I adapted a little because I only had 2 cups of rhubarb. I also used 1/4 tsp of nutmeg instead of 1/8, and I also added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
The blueberry and rhubarb taste really good together! However, this pie turns out really runny even if allowed to cool for 24 hours. The flour taste doesn't cook out really well either. The thickener needs to be altered to make it a perfect pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was easy and very good! I made it for a family get-together and it was gone in under 5 minutes! I served it with a side of whip cream and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreald82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Great combination of my two favorite fruits in a whole wheat pie crust! This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States