Blue Ribbon White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I love this cake I made it tonight, but instead of using orange zest and juice i swapped it out with a fresh grapefruit!! So yummy! I just wish the cake came out a bit fluffier and had some bounce back to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This cake didn;t come out of the pan well even when greased and was crumbly so very difficult to frost. The taste was fine but it was hideously ugly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Margarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Redondo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I am an experienced baker and I would classify the finished result of this as a bread ( and a dense thick one) not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this for a wedding along side my very famous chocolate cake. This outshined my chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Found this recipe looking 4 white cake cud use Canola oil in. Followed Jessica F's advice,used 5 egg whites & baking soda. Made 2 layers, put on plates, did rasp. jello "pokecakes", then pressed 2 cps.fresh rasps. on bottom layer refrig- erated til set, then filled & iced w. Cool Whip/vanilla pudd/pie fill combo for hubby's birthday....EXCELLENT!! Wud suggest perhaps problems some ladies xperienced may hv been NOT taking enuf time folding in the egg whites. Took me good 5 mins. bcause of stiffness of batter. Will use this often w. variations...THANK YOU 4 such an old-fashioned-tasting vanilla goodness recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This recipe is the worst baking disaster I can ever recall - Seriously. I made it for a birthday dinner and was completely embarrassed at how awful it was. Doughy and extremely dense, the cake was so bad, guests ate a few bites and politely said they were to full to eat any more! Don't make the same mistake I did and waste time and $$ on making this "blue ribbon" cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This cake tastes like what cake is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is the white cake recipe I've been looking for--light and fluffy yet moist. I made some adjustments because I kind of know what I like: I added an extra egg white and a 1/4 tsp. of baking soda which maybe makes it a little lighter and "eggier". Otherwise I followed the recipe almost to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Followed the recipe to a "t" except for the use of almond extract. The batter was not unlike some described as play doh or dense. It was very nice to work with. I made only half the recipe to try and it's in the oven now. Is raising perfectly. Using whipped cream for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
A amazing cake, I would give it 10 stars if I could! I frosted it with French Silk Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States