Blue Ribbon White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I made this recipe because the reviews on it were great. I made it EXACTLY as the recipe and it turned out delicious (I used the pan of water and everything- no hassle at all!). My family (4 of us) ate both loaves in two days! Goes with absolutely anything-sandwiches or plain and pair with coffee. I am making it right now for the second time and will be using double the yeast and butter as some recommended here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Don't be to hastey to double the yeast - try doubling the resting times. Yes I would have liked a little taller loaf but the flavor this way is very good. I used shortening but agree butter would be much better (isn't it always????). All in all this is an excellent recipe just remember to double the resting period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I will make this bread again. I followed directions exactly. My husband loves it and he is a chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Gave this recipe a whirl this weekend and WOW...WOW...WOW! This bread is simply awesome. I cut the ingredients in half and boy was that a mistake! Everyone loved this bread and I ended up starting a new batch right away! Thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starke, Florida, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Great bread recipe, much easier than traditional recipes in which you start by scalding milk. Evaporated milk keeps the bread soft. One change I make is that I warm the evaporated milk, honey, salt, second part water, and butter (instead of shortening) in a saucepan, stir, and then let these ingredients cool before incorporating proofed yeast solution. As others have said, I halve the amount of salt. I also use unbleached bread flour. This bread stays fresh longer than other breads I have made, probably because of the preservative quality of the honey. I use a Kitchenaid stand mixer for the initial mixture and some of the kneading, and finish kneading by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I made it according to the recipe, EXCEPT that after the first 2 cups of flour I stop measuring. I use an electric mixer with kneading hooks. I slowly add flour until the dough starts to cleanly lift from the sides and starts to on the bottom. The dough is very sticky at first, but after the first rise you can handle it with a little care. So I end up using less flour but the loaf is light and very nice. I also don't use the pan of water in the oven because it doesn't need it. I also used melted butter instead of shortening. Really a great everyday bread recipe. I recommend that people check out videos on youtube on how to form loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
A great recipe. I have baked bread for years and ths is the best recipe yet. I found 1 pg. of yeast just fine but let Yeast and water and sugar sit for 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This bread was absolutely wonderful! I did use two pkts of yeast and it was perfect! I am going to make half into rolls this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I agree with others double the yeast and use butter instead of shortening. Very easy and tasty bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcbpapa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I can't wait to try this! I make my own bread for my family and they rather have my bread , compared to the store bread. thanks for sharing this. I'm going to make it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States