Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
An AWESOME cookie recipe--TEN STARS-- and very easy to convert for gluten-free. I simply used a rice/potato/tapioca blend (such as Bette Hagman's recipe, which is: 2 parts white rice flour + 2/3 parts potato starch + 1/3 part tapioca flour). As many gluten-free cooks know, you do have to add more flour to get a decent consistency, but if you add it an 1/8 cup at a time, I find it always comes out perfectly, once you get it to cookie-dough consistency. I love these cookies after refrigerating the dough, then making dough-balls and dipping them into sugar before flattening and baking. Make sure to put them onto parchment paper to avoid them sticking. These are the best sugar cookies I've ever had--even when made gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celiac_family_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Awesome and easy.......I used an ice cream scoop for large cookies. Great to wrap up in 6's for a Christmas time gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have made these 4 times in the past month- they always disappear in a flash. I use both almond and lemon extracts with vanilla, and a couple of the times have adjusted the butter up and the oil down for fluffier, rollable cookies. They are always yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Very good! I was a little scared because of the oil and butter, but they turned out great. Very light and tender. Not too sweet. I didn't have lemon extract, so as another poster suggested, I added 1T lemon juice. They were delicious. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Found this recipe just yesterday and tried last night with my two children. Fun and easy to make, my children enjoyed flattening and decorating, and they are a huge hit. Love the results! Now, if they only will last until Christmas. All evening my children said "mommy, may I just have one more?" Great recipe - will make again and again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The rolled thickness of the dough makes a huge difference in the taste and texture of this cookie. The dough handles well and is easy to use. My family liked it rolled very thinly and cooked until golden.It has an almost shortbread taste but retains the sugar cookie crispness. This is an excellent recipe and has that full flavored old fashioned taste of my childhood. Perhaps my 4-H daughter will try this recipe at the county 4-H/FFA fair next summer and we will see if it wins a blue ribbon....we think it will. Thank you Angie for sharing this great tasting treat with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These were an amazing hit in my house. Just drooled over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jarrettsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
this recipe turned out good. 1/8th inch thick makes the cookies crunchy, but still surprisingly soft on the inside. We'll probably make these again as one of an assortment for a holiday gathering. Also, we resorted to squishing the cookies with our hands as using a glass consistently resulted in torn cookies. Oh well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
The best sugar cookie I've ever made with just a little lemon flavor and very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States