Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
nice and thick. I made these for my teachers and they loved them. a little dry but icing takes care of that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This is more like a shortbread cookie, but it's wonderful! The lemon extract makes them very tasty. I make really big cookies with this recipe and frost them with canned vanilla cake frosting that I've colored and heated in the microwave. Then I add sprinkles. They sold really well at my daughter's Girl Scout bake sale. The kids go nuts for them, but the adults raved too! Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Love it, love it, love it! I did not have any lemon extract so I used almond. The dough was too soft to roll into balls but I used a cookie scoop and they came out perfect! I was looking for a sugar cookie recipe that you didn't have to refrigerate and roll out and cut out. This is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
An AWESOME cookie recipe--TEN STARS-- and very easy to convert for gluten-free. I simply used a rice/potato/tapioca blend (such as Bette Hagman's recipe, which is: 2 parts white rice flour + 2/3 parts potato starch + 1/3 part tapioca flour). As many gluten-free cooks know, you do have to add more flour to get a decent consistency, but if you add it an 1/8 cup at a time, I find it always comes out perfectly, once you get it to cookie-dough consistency. I love these cookies after refrigerating the dough, then making dough-balls and dipping them into sugar before flattening and baking. Make sure to put them onto parchment paper to avoid them sticking. These are the best sugar cookies I've ever had--even when made gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celiac_family_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Awesome and easy.......I used an ice cream scoop for large cookies. Great to wrap up in 6's for a Christmas time gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have made these 4 times in the past month- they always disappear in a flash. I use both almond and lemon extracts with vanilla, and a couple of the times have adjusted the butter up and the oil down for fluffier, rollable cookies. They are always yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Very good! I was a little scared because of the oil and butter, but they turned out great. Very light and tender. Not too sweet. I didn't have lemon extract, so as another poster suggested, I added 1T lemon juice. They were delicious. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Found this recipe just yesterday and tried last night with my two children. Fun and easy to make, my children enjoyed flattening and decorating, and they are a huge hit. Love the results! Now, if they only will last until Christmas. All evening my children said "mommy, may I just have one more?" Great recipe - will make again and again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The rolled thickness of the dough makes a huge difference in the taste and texture of this cookie. The dough handles well and is easy to use. My family liked it rolled very thinly and cooked until golden.It has an almost shortbread taste but retains the sugar cookie crispness. This is an excellent recipe and has that full flavored old fashioned taste of my childhood. Perhaps my 4-H daughter will try this recipe at the county 4-H/FFA fair next summer and we will see if it wins a blue ribbon....we think it will. Thank you Angie for sharing this great tasting treat with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States