Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was a very simple, quick, but delicious crispy sugar cookie. I was trying to replicate the Voortman's Tea Ring cookie and this came very close. Instead of using the lemon extract I used 2 t. of vanilla extract and 1/2 t. of almond extract. Delish!! I refrigerated the dough about 10 minutes between each batch and baked the cookies on parchment paper. I used a small cookie scoop and dropped the dough into a bowl of sugar. I patted them into balls and flattened with my fingers on the cookie sheets. I sprinkled with additional sugar and baked for 8 minutes. (4 minutes on each rack) They came out PERFECT! I took some to my mom and she ate 3 right away and said they were even better than Voortman's! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These are excellent. They are slightly crisp yet still chewy. Made them for a party and the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I usually prefer a softer sugar cookie, but these were very tasty. My hubby and I liked them best while they were hot, straight out of the oven. I took some of these to my parents and my dad loved them. He said that they reminded him of Lorna Doone shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I was disappointed with these cookies. They were very dry and sandy. I couldn't take them to my daughter's Christmas party at school. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
A very good sugar cookie! With the advice of TLBRAN, I increased the vanilla to 2 tsp & only used 1/2 tsp lemon extract. I chilled my dough, then scooped by tablespoons, and rolled them into balls, and flattened with my hand, then sprinkled with red and green sugar crystals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very good cookie, liked them a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I love these cookies. They are light and crispy. Wonderful to glaze and beautiful.The best Christmas sugar cookies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Fantabulous! One variation- cut back to one teaspoon of lemon extract. I'll be making these all season long. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These cookies are the best! I make these every year for Christmas....I substitute Almond extract for the lemon, and make a frosting with powdered sugar, milk and butter and add the almond extract to it too...De-Lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Crispy and light and since you don't have to roll them out, they're also not as labor intensive as many sugar cookie recipes. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States