Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
The oil saturated the recipe. Cut it down to 3/4 of a cup and you should be good to go. I also didn't use the lemon extract. However, I wanted this recipe so that I could make ladybug cookies. I added some black food coloring (Wilton's) in the recipe and my cookies came out black. I decorated with half circles of red icing, smoothed out with a knife and used mini-chips for the spots. Use the canned icing with tips for ease of use. These are the best tasting sugar cookies around! Tip: Don't let your cookies cool too long on the pan because they break when you take them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I absolutely love these cookies. The recipe is simple and the cookies come out perfect every time. I add a teaspoon of nutmeg just to add some "mystery".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I made these cookies as a drop cookie. It was light and crunchy yet soft in the middle. However I did not care for the flavor, but I think I will make them for christmas when my kids and I make our sugar cookies with frosting. I think they will be great then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Great cookies. It took way less times than stated to make these. about 25 minutes from start to finish... with a 2 year old. ALthough I DO have a Kitchenaid and I think that this reduces prep time by a lot. Anyway, these cookies were fabulously easy and delicious. But next time I'd do 1/2 a recipe. I didn't look at the yeild before I started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
OUTSTANDING cookies!! I also left out the cream of tartar (saved a trip to the store anyway) and used extra vanilla extract in place of the lemon extract (ditto on trip to store). Definitely follow the timing recommendations; remove them from the oven as soon as the edges start to turn golden brown. Absolutely divine... crispy and flavorful and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Point Roberts, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This is a terrific recipe. We give these away all the time to our St. Vincent Hotel homeless shelter. I have modified it by adding two cups of finely chopped Sun-Maid Tropical Trio (a mix of pineapple, mango, and papaya) and two cups of white chocolate baking chips. When we donate them to a bake sale we call them "Tropical Sugar Cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
AWESOME! I wouldn't change a thing. My family will love these. TY so much for this awesome recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
These cookies were great!! We didn't use the cream of tartar and we used half of the lemon recipe, but it still turned out really well. This is our favorite cookie recipe. Thanks Angie, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This cookie is very moist, but holds its shape. It is also very good if you add nutmeg, cloves and allspice. This gives it a very spicy, rich flavor to an already wonderful cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I found these cookies to be a bit dry and I didn't particularly care for the flavor. Not really a bad recipe, just not what I was looking for. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States