Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I have a small dessert business & have made these cookies 6-7 times over the past few days for clients who wanted cookies for parties or to decorate with family. After several batches, I made a few changes. I increased the vanilla to 2 - 2 1/2 tsp & only used 1/4 to 1/2 tsp lemon extract. I also reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp. Also, don't overmix the dough after adding the dry ingredients. After making a batch, I usually refrigerate for 1-2 hours. I also rolled the dough balls in sugar before flattening the cookies. I baked the cookies for 8-9 minutes depending on the cookie sheet. Clients went crazy over the cookies, especially those who like a crisper sugar cookie. Also, clients liked the reduced lemon & increased vanilla changes. I use the Chewy Sugar Cookie recipe for clients who like a chewy cookie. These cookies are great for decorating with frosting, cinnamon/sugar or colored sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Very good recipe! One thing I would be sure to add, though, is NOT to substitute shortening for butter, and to be certain to keep the butter cool enough to not melt it while mixing. Without the emulsifying power of the lecithin in butter, you're basically going to have an oil slick on top of your wet ingredients, and nothing is really going to bring it back together. Margarine probably works as a substitute, as it also has lecithin in it. Some cookie recipes benefit from shortening or melted butter -- not this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
These cookies are wonderful! I first tasted them 27 years ago (1976) when my my Grandma Grace made some for us. My (then 6 years old) daughter loved them so much that they became a family tradition. They are crispy and light, and melt in your mouth good!! Keep them in an airtight container - if they last that long! : ) I've varied the flavorings over the years, too. Lemon, vanilla or almond. All are great! Perfect for grandma's to keep in the freezer to bake when the grandkids come. I have rolled the balls and frozen them on a cookie sheet then bagged the balls for baking - just thaw on the cookie sheet - when you want just a few. A wonderful cookie - but be careful, they are addictive! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Very light with a slight lemon flavor. I do not recommend this recipe for cookie cutters, the dough is to soft and airy. But otherwise very tasty, didn't use a frosting, just put some white sugar on top. This reciepe does make the amount specified. I forgot to cut it down and ended up with 50 cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Excellent and easy. I made these omitting the lemon extract--delicious! I also used this recipe and included pecans and/or chocolate chips. With the pecans, my husband said they tasted like the commercial Pecan Sandies Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Delicious cookies. I made the full recipe, but baked only half. The other half I flattened with the glass, then flash froze on wax paper lined cookie sheets. Then put in bags. Baked from frozen and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Best sugar cookie recipe I've made. Instead of lemon extract, I squeezed one half of a lemon into the dough and added a tad more vanilla as other users have suggested. These really are great. I am craving some as I type this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
WOW What a great recipe i love it and so did all my family i made them for christmas every one raved about it.will keep for ever in my recipe box thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
WONDERFUL! I would suggest refridgerating the dough before rolling balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
mmmmm, very tasty. Like others, I added a little extra sugar and didn't have lemon extract, so I added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice and uppped the vanilla. No frosting necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States