Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
My husband loved these. Nice change from the normal sugar cookie which turns hard, these stayed soft for days. My kids had fun decorating these for the holiday. The recipe makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
probably the owrst sugar cookie I have tasted. I cut down the oil and omitted the lemon extract. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are very good and easy sugar cookies that melt in your mouth. I left out the lemon extract and rather than dipping the bottom of a glass in sugar, I just rolled the balls in sugar ... then flattened them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
The perfect sugar cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Very good recipe! One thing I would be sure to add, though, is NOT to substitute shortening for butter, and to be certain to keep the butter cool enough to not melt it while mixing. Without the emulsifying power of the lecithin in butter, you're basically going to have an oil slick on top of your wet ingredients, and nothing is really going to bring it back together. Margarine probably works as a substitute, as it also has lecithin in it. Some cookie recipes benefit from shortening or melted butter -- not this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
well I hate to say this but... these cookies did not go over well at all, in fact ended up feeding some to the birds. Followed the recipe as stated, but the cookies were very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Isaacs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Way too much lemon. Makes a killer lemon cookie though. I didn't sift the flour and dry ingrediants, so maybe that's why I didn't have the 'too cake like' complaint some other people had. I added about a half of cup more sugar though. I didn't find the mixture too doughy either, although I wasn't trying to cut them out; I flattened them with a glass as suggested and made them very big (a little larger than golf ball sized). Next time I'll use 1/4 teaspoon of lemon extract and 2 teaspoons of vanilla and I think they'll be the best sugar cookie I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
So good, I was almost speechless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueBeeDoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Yummy and so easy! My new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
The oil saturated the recipe. Cut it down to 3/4 of a cup and you should be good to go. I also didn't use the lemon extract. However, I wanted this recipe so that I could make ladybug cookies. I added some black food coloring (Wilton's) in the recipe and my cookies came out black. I decorated with half circles of red icing, smoothed out with a knife and used mini-chips for the spots. Use the canned icing with tips for ease of use. These are the best tasting sugar cookies around! Tip: Don't let your cookies cool too long on the pan because they break when you take them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States