Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and warm milk for ten minutes, then I added the eggs, butter, then the dry ingredients. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes (I did have to add more flour to get it into a ball and be able to be kneaded with the hook). I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I drizzled 1/4 teaspoon of oil over the top of each roll before wrapping it with saran wrap and letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another 45 minutes. I baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Very, very yummy. BAKERY quality and unbelievably easy. HUGE hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I have made tons of rolls and these are absolutely the best! They make a really nice presentation if you stir up an egg and coat the top of the rolls with it just before they go in the oven. I add just a pinch of sugar to the egg and then paint on, for a little extra sweetness. Thanks for sharing Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These rolls are SO easy and delicious! I've made them a few times now, and here's the key to making them perfect: let them rise overnight, roll them out and into their individual rolls (I prefer to make them round), and let them rise again for at least a couple of hours. The dense roll is still tasty, but after it's risen the 2nd time, it creates a fluffier texture. This one is DEFINITELY a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These are some of the best rolls I have ever had!! So easy to make. I have been making these for a few years now and I will continue making them.....my family loves them! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These are the best! I just make them up like normal rolls and they taste heavenly. I also put all the ingredients except for the liquid and yeast into ziplocs as my own quick "mix" so I can make these whenever I want. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I didn't let these sit out overnight (didn't want to sicken my dinner guests), but maybe that's why I wasn't impressed with the end result. I dunno. The taste was just okay, the dough was very, very sticky. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
The rolls did rise good overnight. It was an easy recipe because there was no kneading and really not a whole lot of work. The texture was good they were big & fluffy. . All you could smell or taste was yeast! I guess letting it sit overnight made the milk and eggs sour. I thought adding the butter to the yeast mixture would give it a nice buttery taste but I was wrong you could not taste the butter at all. Maybe if you topped the rolls with butter after baking in the oven it might make it taste a little better.We didn't care for them at all and I never plan on using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
How easy it was to get compliments with these! Love that they do not take up room in the fridge as most overnight rolls do. As suggested by many others, used 2 teaspoons of yeast and made sure the milk was 100 degrees when adding to yeast and sugar. Mixed together with dough hook. The next day, rolled out large rolls with buttered hands and placed in Pam-ed muffin cups. Covered and allowed to rise at least an hour. Everyone loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
YUM!YUM! YUM! The perfect dough to make my pepperoni rolls! I will, however, cut the sugar back to at least 1/4 cup - a bit too sweet for the ppepperoni rolls, but the exact texture and consistancy I was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States