Blue Ribbon Mincemeat Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is an excellent recipe, thank you so much for sharing it. I'd also like to share that I'd never known there was real meat in a mincemeat pie, but the non-meat mincemeat pie has been my favorite practically since birth, LOL, used to call it 'cement pie' when I was a girl. Also must share that someone claiming to be a Brit, said all Brits know there is no real meat in a mincemeat pie, but I beg to differ and must counter with a history site all about the origin of this delicious dish and its evolution throughout the ages. To learn all about this go to: http://whatscookingamerica.net/History/PieHistory/MincemeatPie.htm That helped me understand it even more and although the non-meat version has always been a staple for me for the last 49 of my 50 years, I'm also going to keep serving this new (to me) version of the truly traditional dish, it's wonderful! A very Merry Christmas to all and to all a Wonderful New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FuzzleBuzz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
That's a great recipe and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Also tried another version with some twist in some ingredients. (R)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have been making this recipe for over 35 years, only instead of the Brandy, I use apple juice. It really is delicious. and a LOT cheaper than the $8.95 jars of Mince meat at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
just watched a Victorian program on BBC making mincemeat for pies and contrary to a review of this recipe, it contained boiled beef. The best mincemeat I ever made had tinned sour cherries in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Beside having to cut this down to 5 servings (which was more manageable), this was a pretty easy and tasty recipe. I know there is not always actual meat in mincemeat, but I liked the hearty taste of it myself. I think it helps to offset the super sugary fruit mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Thank you, Cali, for posting this delicious recipe. My husband is from Central Pennsylvania, where everyone uses meat in their mincemeat recipes (venison or beef), he won't eat meatless mincemeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Confer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have some die hard mincemeat lovers, so I tried this recipe, and it was a hit! As a note to a comment above, although many people now make mincemeat without meat; traditionally it was made with meat. Mincemeat developed as a way of preserving meat without salting or smoking some 500 years ago in England, where mince pies are still considered an essential accompaniment to holiday dinners just like the traditional plum pudding. This pie is a remnant of a medieval tradition of spiced meat dishes, usually minced mutton, that have survived because of its association with Christmas. These pies have also been known as Christmas Pies. Mince pie as part of the Christmas table had long been an English custom. Today, we are accustomed to eating mince pie as a dessert, but actually "minced" pie and its follow-up "mincemeat pie" began as a main course dish with with more meat than fruit (a mixture of meat, dried fruits, and spices). As fruits and spices became more plentiful in the 17th century, the spiciness of the pies increased accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
used this recipe at christmas time. all relatives loved it. kept very well for days after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I would hesitate to call this a "mincemeat" pie, seeing how us Brits know that there is NO meat in a mincemeat pie.(mincemeat is the Victorian name for a mixture of fruit) Call it a "minced meat" pie and it was OK. Neede something else, could not figure out quite what. Will make it again and experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
First thing I did was to scale this down to 10 servings and it made 1 pie. I made it with a double batch of "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" found on this website. Since I have never eaten a mincemeat pie, I have nothing to compare this to, and I don't know how authenic the flavor is. BUT I liked this pie. It was very good. The only thing I did different is to use apple juice in place of the brandy. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States