Blue Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this the day before Thanksgiving and tried a bit of it when it was done and really liked it. However the next day when the flavors of the spices came through I thought it was awful!! I liked the blueberries but will never use the spices again. I don't think that they went with the cranberries at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I was a little worried, but it was a great hit at Thanksgiving. You definitely need to make it at least a few days ahead. I also thought it tasted better not directly out of the fridge. Heat it up or let it get closer to room temperature. I added orange zest and extra sugar. Next time I will add less blueberries. They kind of take over as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This sauce was colorful, sweet, spicy, & tart all in one bite. I took the advice of others to cook the cranberries in OJ instead of water. I also added orange zest. Everyone seemed to enjoy it with our Thanksgiving dinner. I personally thought the spices overwhelmed the dish just a tad, so I will cut them back a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly k.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Love, love, loved this one! I took the advice of others and added 1 full cup of sugar. The cranberries need to simmer a little longer than stated, about 15 minutes should do. I didn't have any allspice on hand so I substituted 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 tsp. cinnamon for all the seasonings listed. Pumpkin pie spice is a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves and it worked perfectly. I used 1-1/2 c. blueberries and about 1/2 c. raspberries. The berries add a rich, beautiful color and the mixture is so tasty. You can put this out with the main course and leave it out for people to have with their pie and ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
cinnamom was very strong. This would be good on top of waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I loved this. I left out the spices, used oj instead of water and kept sugar the same. I'll make again, but might leave out oj as the orange flavor kind of overpowered the blueberry, or I might squish the blueberries so they juice up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Yummy!!! I was making this for a big crowd, so I added some of the canned jelly stuff, and mixed it all up, and it was soooo good. This one's going in my recipe book (that's a good thing) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is good!! I left it pretty chunky, with lots of whole berries like in the picture. this might have been forbidding to some of the canned-cranberry-sauce type people at my thanksgiving, but if they we're put off, they didn't say anything and ate it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICEK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
We're having another mini-Thanksgiving tomorrow, so I made this up this morning and had a taste of it. It's delicious! I halved the recipe for just three of us, added a bit of extra sugar as it was quite tart, and I used frozen blueberries. Thanks so much, Connie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Oh my! This is so different and so delicious! Everyone loved it and the flavors and spices were fantastic together! YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States